Red Weather Review

Red Weather Review News and Views for Readers

Red Weather Review is a literary blog about recent books, with a particular interest in the overlooked. Our focus is recent fiction and nonfiction--everything from literary novels to mysteries, and from biographies and works of history to essay collections and social criticism. We value good art that entertains and nonfiction that matters. Books receive scant attention in the nation's major print media. But many of us are hooked on books. We read them for work and for fun. We read them to stay informed, and to find our way in a complex time. So we want and need to know what's worth reading. As a literary blog, Red Weather will help point you to the best in current fiction and nonfiction. We take our name from the poem "Disillusionment of Ten O' Clock" by Wallace Stevens. The poet writes about people going to bed for the night. They forget to dream, to use their imagination. But here and there, a drunken sailor "catches tigers / in red weather." Joseph Barbato edits Red Weather. He has written about books and authors for many years. A former columnist and contributing editor at Publishers Weekly, he has contributed to the book pages of USA Today, Newsday, The Dallas Morning News, The Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, The Los Angeles Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, and other publications. His books include the literary anthologies Heart of the Land (Pantheon) and Off the Beaten Path (Farrar, Straus & Giroux). Barbato is also a consultant to many nonprofit institutions. His clients have included the American Academy in Berlin, the Union of Concerned Scientists, the National Wildlife Federation, the Brookings Institution, the Westport Playhouse, and the American Diabetes Association. Barbato earned an M.A. in American studies at NYU. He is a member of the Authors Guild and twice served as president of American Independent Writers.

Marc Blitzstein
10/16/2012
Marc Blitzstein

Marc Blitzstein

When [Marc] Blitzstein returned to New York in September 1936, he found the times propitious as concerned his latest opera,The Cradle Will Rock.

The Brilliant Disaster
04/21/2011
The Brilliant Disaster

The Brilliant Disaster

Back in the first half of the twentieth century, America was a good and determined nation led by competent men and defended by an indomitable military–that, anyway, was a plausible view for Americans to hold fifty years ago.

What’s Ann August Reading?
04/21/2011
What’s Ann August Reading?

What’s Ann August Reading?

I’ve been enjoying Sara Gruen’s novel Water for Elephants. Memories, both heartbreaking and heartwarming, sustain Jake Jankowski, who has cared for the menagerie at the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. Jake’s story hurtles from scene to scene, interspersed with his recognition of–an

Roundup: Nonfiction
04/21/2011
Roundup: Nonfiction

Roundup: Nonfiction

Rawhide Down: The Near Assassination of Ronald Reagan by Del Quentin Wilber. Henry Holt (320 pp.) Washington Post reporter Wilber interviewed over 100 people and scoured diaries and official documents to craft this gripping account. He details the life and actions of the suicidal, would-be assass

04/18/2011
Something Special from L.A. Comes

Something Special from L.A. Comes

All readers will welcome the new Los Angeles Review of Books, which launches this month. An ambitious nonprofit, the online publication will be edited by Tom Lutz, author and creative writing professor at the University of California, Riverside, with funding from the university, the Rosenthal Fami

Another first line from Red Weather Review.
04/16/2011
Bringing Adam Home

Another first line from Red Weather Review.

Shortly after lunch on what seemed an ordinary summer afternoon, a young South Florida housewife set out on a shopping trip with her six-year-old son in tow.

04/15/2011
A Blacklisted Legend & More

A Blacklisted Legend & More

In an IRS-style FAQ about David Foster Wallace’s The Pale King, novelist Patrick Somerville finds “so many red flags around this novel, it may as well be parked in a used car lot .”

If you enjoy Red Weather Review, please "like" us on our official page.  Thanks!
04/14/2011
Layover in Dubai

If you enjoy Red Weather Review, please "like" us on our official page. Thanks!

Sam Keller, still jet-lagged and still keeping a hand on his wallet, wondered how anyone could actually think of sex in a dump like this.

This is the first in our new series on "What They're Reading."  Please visit us at www.redweatherreview.com.
04/12/2011
What’s Dan Moldea Reading?

This is the first in our new series on "What They're Reading." Please visit us at www.redweatherreview.com.

I’m just a grunt true-crime writer, so my reading habits are pretty simple. With baseball season upon us, I wanted to read a good book about our national pastime. To be sure, I went to a master, Paul Dickson, aka “The Godfather of Washington Writers,” who has just published Baseball Is . . . Defin

We sadly note the death of L.J. Davis, New York novelist and journalist.  He was the author of "Whence All But He Had Fl...
04/09/2011
Red Weather Review

We sadly note the death of L.J. Davis, New York novelist and journalist. He was the author of "Whence All But He Had Fled" and other novels, including "A Meaningful Life," recently reissued by New York Review Books. He was also the author of several nonfiction titles.

News and Views for Readers

Address

5420 Gary Pl
Alexandria, VA
22311

Telephone

(703) 379-5441

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Red Weather Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Red Weather Review:

Nearby media companies


Other Media/News Companies in Alexandria

Show All