Sarah Lawrence College Review

Sarah Lawrence College Review The Sarah Lawrence Review is an annually printed journal, publishing a wide range of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and art The Sarah Lawrence Review is a forum for artists and writers in the community to inspire each other, and a vehicle by which student work may move into the world.

We are an annually printed journal, publishing a wide range of poetry, fiction, nonfiction and visual art by undergraduate students at Sarah Lawrence College. Current Editors-in-Chief: Robyn Thum & Lucy Dunphy Barsness Previous editors: 2014-2015 Editors in Chief: Lucy Dunphy Barsness & Gina Iaquinta 2013-2014 Editors in Chief: Em Henry & Sally Howe 2012-2013 Stephanie Schiffler & Rebecca Temerario (fall), Nicole Testa (spring) 2011-2012 Michael Bothwell & Stephanie Schiffler

Mission: 2015-2016 Mission Statement: As the oldest-running annual literary magazine on campus, the Sarah Lawrence College Review is a distinguished publication for writers and artists in the SLC community —whether you join our staff and participate in readings, get selected for publication, attend events, or even draw us a poster! In our upcoming 40th issue, a highly anticipated anniversary edition, we will seek to maintain the same caliber of excellence in student, staff, and faculty work. Everyone in the Sarah Lawrence community is welcome and encouraged to submit poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and/or visual art. Our staff is solely made up of students, with editors who excel in their respective genres. All submissions are presented to editors anonymously and are read and selected with an air of openness and respect. We believe that Sarah Lawrence College is ripe with talent, and such talent deserves to be immortalized in print for all to see.

THE REVIEW IS HERE!!! Click the link below to read all the incredible pieces in this year’s collection!!! https://issuu....
05/24/2020
Sarah Lawrence Review 2020, Vol. XLIV

THE REVIEW IS HERE!!! Click the link below to read all the incredible pieces in this year’s collection!!!
https://issuu.com/slcreview/docs/slc_20review_202020_20final

The Sarah Lawrence Review is Sarah Lawrence College's premier and longest-running literary magazine, focusing on student, alumni and faculty-submitted poetry, prose, art, and photography. This is the spring 2020 edition, volume 44. If you'd like a free PDF version of this year's magazine, e-mail slc...

The Review drops soon! Check your email.....
05/18/2020

The Review drops soon! Check your email.....

12/26/2019

The deadline for submissions to the SLC Review have been extended to Jan 12th!!!!! This is your reminder to submit to the SLC Review, Sarah Lawrence's longest-running literary magazine before it is too late! The deadline for submissions is now extended to Jan 12th!!!



We're looking for;

Prose (Fiction and Non-Fiction)
Poetry
Photography
Visual Art
Grocery Lists
Opera Scores
Maps
Anything printable, really. Go nuts.
Please email your work to [email protected], with your name and 'SUBMISSION' in the subject line. We request that you send written work as a .doc, .docx, or .rtf, and visual works as .jpeg. Please include your full name in your e-mail, not the actual document, and format the file title as "firstname_lastname_title".



We look forward to reading all of your submissions and can't wait to produce and share our literary magazine with all of you!



Questions? Reach out to [email protected].



thanks,

Steven Orlofsky and Abigail Munson,

co-editors-in-chief

01/20/2019

snow stormed in? snow stormed out? SUBMIT TO SLC REVIEW

Deadline: Jan. 22
may the odds be ever in your favour

12/29/2018

Calling all writers and visual artists!

The SLC Review is open for submissions until January 22. All members of the Sarah Lawrence community are welcome and encouraged to submit!

Our submission guidelines are:
- All submissions must be sent to [email protected] from your Sarah Lawrence email.
- You may submit as many pieces as you'd like, from any genre and of any length (although pieces longer than 10 pages may be excerpted).
- Please send your written work as a .doc, .docx, or .rtf.
- Please send your visual art as a .jpeg.
- Do not include your name on the document, as we have a blind selection process. Instead, include your name as you would like it to appear in the signature of your e-mail.
- To help us keep things sorted, please include your last name and the title of your piece in the name of the file ("name_title").

We look forward to reading your work and happy holidays!

12/28/2018
Reading in the Shade

Reading in the Shade

I know it's super *edgy* to mock people for falling into the anti intellectual cesspool, but come on already.

When a person who works 2 jobs, has kids, and barely graduated high school, and can't even read at a 10th grade level comes across your precious radical theories, they will not care.

Nobody wants to read something that requires a thesaurus, dictionary, and an open Google tab. I'm glad you could afford that precious post secondary degree and you can use $5,000 words no matter the topic.

The rest of us don't function that way. You're gatekeeping by denying basic information to those who need it most. If your queer Theory or feminist theory or race theory aren't inclusive to the poorest and least formally educated among us, who is it for really? Are you here for the revolution or some weird self congratulatory masturbation session?

Intellectual snobs look at folks without much formal education and judge. You wonder "Why do they follow this con artist? Why do they support this problematic person? Why do they believe such ridiculous ideas?"
Because the snake oil salesman knows his audience and acts like one of the people even if he secretly despises the people. He Talks to the people in a way that makes sense, and makes the voiceless feel empowered and heard.
Don't like it? Do better. You're not saving or empowering anyone inside your academic ivory tower. Come down from your tower rapunzel, and put your work boots on.

Being poor or not being able to access formal education doesn't make us undeserving of safety or a positive future. Liberation is not only for highly educated or the wealthy. High school drop outs matter. College drop outs matter. Kids that never got help they needed in school matter. People who have never heard of Marx matter. People who were never taught the value of crictical thinking matter. People who have never read lorde, hooks, or davis matter. People who were never taught how to connect patterns, analyze society, or question authority matter.

People are systemically denied access to education, and the tools needed to radically deconstruct and critique. This is an intentional maneuver of the ruling class to end rebellions before they begin. If you have the extra insight and knowledge share it with those who do not. Being unaware of systemic oppression doesn't make you exempt from being held down by it

Hoarding information and making it inaccessible is exactly what those at the top of oppressive structures do. Instead of mocking someone for not understanding what the hell
"social classifications such as gender, race and nationality constituted by a "governing logic" require an epistemological intervention through queer theory"
Means, sit down and explain it. When did intellectual critique of queer theory trump street based queer sex workers immediate problems?

When theory about race trump 64,000 missing black women and girls in real life?

When did intense discussions about Marxist feminism become more relevant than 1 in 3 kids not having food at dinner time?

Stop the intellectual mastrubation and take your theories to the real world and talk to those who need help more than they need you intellectual superiority and smugness.
Remember, if it's not accessible to the poor it is not revolutionary.

So are you a revolutionary or are you something else?

https://www.patreon.com/WineCellarMediaFund
https://www.paypal.me/PhoenixandWilliam

12/18/2018

Calling all writers and visual artists!

The SLC Review is open for submissions until December 31st. All members of the Sarah Lawrence community are welcome and encouraged to submit!

Our submission guidelines are:
- All submissions must be sent to [email protected] from your Sarah Lawrence email.
- You may submit as many pieces as you'd like, from any genre and of any length (although pieces longer than 10 pages may be excerpted).
- Please send your written work as a .doc, .docx, or .rtf.
- Please send your visual art as a .jpeg.
- Do not include your name on the document, as we have a blind selection process. Instead, include your name as you would like it to appear in the signature of your e-mail.
- To help us keep things sorted, please include your last name and the title of your piece in the name of the file ("name_title").

We look forward to reading your work and happy holidays!

12/14/2018

Pizza & snacks in the Teahaus right now until 8

Hear ye, Hear ye!December work loads suckBut come take the pressure offAt the Tea House, on Friday, With lots of food an...
12/11/2018

Hear ye, Hear ye!

December work loads suck
But come take the pressure off
At the Tea House, on Friday,
With lots of food and stuff.

Sincerely,
SLC REVIEW

It's TONIGHT!! Wahhhh !!!!Show up people! Do it for the food, and do it for the talent!
11/09/2018

It's TONIGHT!! Wahhhh !!!!

Show up people! Do it for the food, and do it for the talent!

Hear our talented staff read the work that got them here! This Friday: ya’ll better roll up

Hear our talented staff read the work that got them here! This Friday: ya’ll better roll up
11/07/2018

Hear our talented staff read the work that got them here! This Friday: ya’ll better roll up

11/05/2018
Sarah Lawrence College Review

Sarah Lawrence College Review

Sarah Lawrence dancers and artists! Send over clips and pictures of your art for our new instagram page slc_review! They'll be put in our highlights. spread the word spread the word!

11/02/2018

Sarah Lawrence dancers and artists! Send over clips and pictures of your art for our new instagram page slc_review! They'll be put in our highlights. spread the word spread the word!

*glowing up before your very eyes*
11/02/2018

*glowing up before your very eyes*

guess who just joined instagram? your cool parent aka me
10/30/2018

guess who just joined instagram? your cool parent aka me

Kat Carlsen, A Boy's Best Friends, Sarah Lawrence College Review 2018, page 40
10/30/2018

Kat Carlsen, A Boy's Best Friends, Sarah Lawrence College Review 2018, page 40

Drawing by Helen Essary Ansell, Sarah Lawrence Literary Review, Winter 1962, page 25
10/30/2018

Drawing by Helen Essary Ansell, Sarah Lawrence Literary Review, Winter 1962, page 25

09/25/2018

Attention Sarah Lawrence students: there is pizza in the North Room of the Pub! Cheese AND pepperoni can both be yours for the low, low price of your participation in the SLC Review's Writing Workshop, happening at 8!

Calling all writers, editors, and artists of Sarah Lawrence,The Sarah Lawrence Review is excited to announce our 43rd co...
09/12/2018
2018-19 Editor Application Form

Calling all writers, editors, and artists of Sarah Lawrence,

The Sarah Lawrence Review is excited to announce our 43rd consecutive edition! We're building a staff of passionate people who are excited about reading, writing, and art.
No experience is necessary. We are looking for:

- 3 Prose Editors to review our fiction and non-fiction submissions.

- 3 Poetry Editors to review our poetry submissions.

- 3 Layout/Visual Editors to design our magazine using the software InDesign. You will also be the first to review our visual arts submissions, before they are discussed by the whole staff.

- 1 Publicity Editor to manage our social media accounts and poster needs.

In addition, this year ALL members of our staff will be copy-editing, and reviewing our visual art submissions.
Editor applications are due September 23 at midnight, and can be found at: http://tinyurl.com/htqtnsb. Please fill out our lovingly crafted form, and send 1-3 pages of your own work as a sample piece to [email protected]. Also, please email us for a sample piece to copy edit as I cannot figure out how to attach it to this post!
We are also open for submissions! Please send written submissions via your Sarah Lawrence email as .doc, .docx, or .rtf files; visual art submissions should be in .jpeg form. Any other format will not be accepted. Multiple submissions should be sent in one file. Also, please remove your name from your submission and instead, include it as the signature in your email. You may send as many pieces as you'd like.
If you have any questions, please come to our Information Session tomorrow in the Slonim Stone Room at 7! There will be cookies!

We're excited to review your submissions, build our team, and publish the best Review yet!

Cheers,

Veronica and Lindsay

Hello! Thanks so much for your interest in joining our staff. A bit about us: The Sarah Lawrence Review is a forum for artists and writers in the community to inspire each other, and a vehicle by which student work may move into the world. We are an annually printed journal, publishing a wide range....

04/29/2018

Our launch party is TOMORROW at 6pm in Slonim Living Room! Stop by to enjoy some food, hear some writing, and pick up a copy of the 2018 review. See you there!

04/15/2018

Our launch party is just two weeks away! Be there, April 29th at 6pm. Who's excited?? 🙋🏽‍♀️

01/21/2018

It's spring semester and you know what that means- time for the editors of the SLC Review to get to work! We got so many submissions from all of you and are ready to spend the next few months working on the review for all of you. Stay tuned for updates on the publishing process and events!

12/31/2017

The clock is ticking! Get your written or visual submissions in to [email protected] by midnight tonight to be published in the 2018 Review! We accept submissions in .doc, .docx, .rtf, or .jpeg. Please do not include your name on the document

12/26/2017

Whether you're done editing or you've just started writing(or drawing), remember you have until Sunday to submit your work to [email protected]

Just 10 days left to submit your work to be published in the SLC Review! Get writing!
12/21/2017

Just 10 days left to submit your work to be published in the SLC Review! Get writing!

12/15/2017

Happy last day of classes and congratulations on finishing the semester! Start off your winter break by submitting your writing or artwork to the SLC Review! Email [email protected]. Deadline is December 31st and we accept submissions in .doc, .dox, .rtf or .jpeg. Remember- please do not include your name on the document. Happy writing!❄️

Grab some coffee and a friend and settle in to get some writing done on this snowy night! Remember: submissions are due ...
12/10/2017

Grab some coffee and a friend and settle in to get some writing done on this snowy night! Remember: submissions are due December 31st to [email protected]

11/28/2017

All of us at the SLC Review hope you had a great break and did a lot of writing! Don't forget- the deadline for visual and written submissions is December 31st. E-mail your submissions to [email protected]. We accept submissions in .doc, .dox, .rtf or .jpeg. Remember- please do not include your name on the document! Happy writing!

We heard some great pieces at our friends reading friends reading! Thanks to everyone that came. Now it's time to think ...
11/17/2017

We heard some great pieces at our friends reading friends reading! Thanks to everyone that came. Now it's time to think about submitting to the review! All submissions due December 31st.

11/16/2017

T-minus two hours until our "Friends Reading Friends" Reading, an SLC review tradition! 7pm Slonim living room. Come for the food, come to hear some good work or come to read work- anyone's but your own! See you there!

11/15/2017

If you missed our Writing Workshop last week, don't worry because our "Friends Reading Friends" reading is THIS THURSDAY at 7pm where you'll get to hear some of the great pieces from the workshop- read by anyone but the author!

We had a great time at the writers workshop tonight! If you missed out, don't worry, you can hear some of the pieces we ...
11/10/2017

We had a great time at the writers workshop tonight! If you missed out, don't worry, you can hear some of the pieces we wrote at the "Friends Reading Friends" Reading next Thursday. Thanks to everyone who came tonight and special thanks to our featured visual artists: Prabhav Bhaumik, Patrick Naremore, Moyna Ghosh and Carter Wilken!

11/09/2017

There's still time! Come to the pub north room at 7 (in a half hour!!) for a great writing workshop, pizza and cookies!

Address

1 Mead Way
Bronxville, NY
10708

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Sarah Lawrence College Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Sarah Lawrence College Review:

Nearby media companies


Other Media/News Companies in Bronxville

Show All

Comments

Anyone in Westchester County looking to hone their stand up skills or take the first step to becoming a comic, there will be a level 1 stand up comedy class on January 17th. The class is being offered by the Manhattan Comedy School of NYC but will be held at 'Levity Live' located in the Palisades Mall in West Nyack NY. Click the link below to register ASAP if you are interested, and be sure to share this post with friends and family to get the word out.