Clicky

earthwords: the undergraduate literary review

earthwords: the undergraduate literary review earthwords showcases and structures community around the best literary and artistic talent of undergraduates attending the University of Iowa.

earthwords: the undergraduate literary review showcases the best literary and artistic endeavors of students attending the University of Iowa, fosters an undergraduate literary community within Iowa City, and provides its staff members with the experience of producing a literary magazine in real time. While earthwords’ board, style, and length change every year, our dedication to promoting the cre

earthwords: the undergraduate literary review showcases the best literary and artistic endeavors of students attending the University of Iowa, fosters an undergraduate literary community within Iowa City, and provides its staff members with the experience of producing a literary magazine in real time. While earthwords’ board, style, and length change every year, our dedication to promoting the cre

Operating as usual

Thank you to everyone who attended our open mic last week! It was super fun and we hope to see you all back at our futur...
09/09/2022

Thank you to everyone who attended our open mic last week! It was super fun and we hope to see you all back at our future events! (Keep your eyes peeled for our upcoming poetry event 👀) And an additional reminder that our submissions are OPEN!! We love seeing your work so if you have something to submit, or are in the creative process with something, you have until OCTOBER 15 to get it to us!

✨Calling all creatives!✨Submissions to earthwords are open TODAY! For our 43rd edition, we are accepting submissions of ...
09/05/2022

✨Calling all creatives!✨Submissions to earthwords are open TODAY! For our 43rd edition, we are accepting submissions of nonfiction, fiction, poetry, drama, and art from undergrads across the University of Iowa. We can’t wait to read your work!

End of year celebration🥳Thank you to everyone for your support this year! Have a great summer, and we will see you in th...
05/11/2022

End of year celebration🥳
Thank you to everyone for your support this year! Have a great summer, and we will see you in the fall📚

Thank you to everyone who submitted, published, and edited work with earthwords this year 📝 Finals are upon us, and we w...
05/09/2022

Thank you to everyone who submitted, published, and edited work with earthwords this year 📝 Finals are upon us, and we want to wish you good luck from all of us worms 🪱

For our final introduction, we cannot wait to tell you about our executive editor who has championed earthwords and our ...
05/06/2022

For our final introduction, we cannot wait to tell you about our executive editor who has championed earthwords and our contributors’ work this year!
Jacob (he/him) is studying English & creative writing and communication studies. He is the executive editor for earthwords, an opportunity he has dreamed of having since his first week on campus. He fell in love with the literary community in Iowa City after attending an open mic event hosted by the organization. Ever since, he has pushed himself to engage with as many publications as possible and stuff his brain with as much knowledge as it could muster from the literary publishing track. His greatest pleasure is getting to meet others who share his passion for publishing, writing, and art. Well, that, and consuming as much Kraft macaroni and cheese as his loved ones will allow.

Our final team introduction belongs to the people who run our events and everything posted on our social media accounts....
05/05/2022

Our final team introduction belongs to the people who run our events and everything posted on our social media accounts. Our talented PR team and Event Coordinator have made our community engagement possible and we're lucky to have them.
From left to right:
Eleanor (she/her) is a junior at the University of Iowa studying journalism and mass communication and global health studies. She is also pursuing a minor in German. She is a designer for @wilderthingsmag and an editor at @thedailyiowan . Eleanor enjoys writing in notebooks and promptly forgetting where she puts them.
Cheyenne (she/her) is a third year English Creative Writing and English Secondary Education major. Things she loves include poetry, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Earl Grey tea with cream and honey. Things she hates include cats, elevators, and waiting for the crosswalk sign to come on.
Kaitlin (she/her) is a fourth year student at the University of Iowa studying English and Creative Writing (Publishing) with a minor in French, graduating in two weeks. She’s the Assistant Senior Editor/Managing Editor for @zenithlitmag , and once she graduates she plans on exploring her love of language abroad.
Evalyn Harper (she/her) is a third-year student studying English and creative writing on the publishing track while also pursuing a certificate in Event Management. Through her roles as the English Society President and earthwords event coordinator, she gets to combine her loves of literature, events, and community building in new and exciting ways every week. She can often be found lurking between library shelves, crying over YA novels, or balancing books on her head just in case she ever becomes a princess.
(not photographed) Sophia is a sophomore at the university. She is majoring in journalism and mass communication and political science with a writing certification.

Curious about the team behind earthwords 42's amazing design and graphics? We're excited to introduce our talented team ...
05/04/2022

Curious about the team behind earthwords 42's amazing design and graphics? We're excited to introduce our talented team of designers who have worked on the beautiful cover of our newest edition as well as the graphics you see on our socials.

Sydney (they/she/he) is a third-year undergraduate majoring in English and creative writing. Besides their engagement with earthwords, they are also the PR director of Newmoon magazine and the programming assistant of the International Student Support and Engagement office. Their favorite activities include finding new ways to make ramen, zoning out by the Iowa River, and filling up their notebooks with random ideas for essays that will never see the light of day.
Carmela (they/she) has designed the cover of earthwords for two years! They preciously worked on copies of at Ink Lit magazine and currently serves on staff for Translate Iowa and Wilder Things magazine. Carmela is in their third year at the university, double majoring in English and creative writing on the publishing track and Italian.

Thank you to everyone who came to the launch party last Friday.  We were so happy to see the faces of the folks who make...
05/02/2022

Thank you to everyone who came to the launch party last Friday. We were so happy to see the faces of the folks who make up our earthwords community. We are so grateful to have such talented contributors and readers. Read on, worms🪱

Drumroll, please… Welcome to the 42nd cover of earthwords!  Our design team has been working tirelessly this semester to...
04/28/2022

Drumroll, please… Welcome to the 42nd cover of earthwords! Our design team has been working tirelessly this semester to bring you our newest, most beautiful book of poems, stories, art, and essays yet. We’re so proud of how the cover turned out, and we couldn't be more excited for the content inside🌺📖

Happy Team Tuesday!  Today, earthwords is pleased to present our web team!  Lily and Jenna work tirelessly to keep us on...
04/26/2022

Happy Team Tuesday! Today, earthwords is pleased to present our web team! Lily and Jenna work tirelessly to keep us online, and we couldn't be prouder.
Lily (left, she/her) is a senior studying English and Creative Writing on the Publishing Track. When she's not working with the amazing earthwords team, Lily is an intern for the University of Iowa pres.
Jenna (right, she/her) is a second year graphic design major at the University of Iowa. She is currently the assistant web editor for earthwords and can usually be found on her laptop all day doing artsy designy things with her pet bird Kiwi. When she's not doing schoolwork, she loves painting, being in nature with her friends, and causing chaos. Her personal art account is @jennareneeart, if you want to look her up 🎨 🪱

Ready for another edition of earthwords? So are we! Come to the launch of our 42nd edition on Friday, April 29 at 7 pm a...
04/22/2022

Ready for another edition of earthwords? So are we! Come to the launch of our 42nd edition on Friday, April 29 at 7 pm at Shambaugh Auditorium in the Main Library! Following readings from contributors and picking up your brand new copy, we will be headed to The Perch for a casual reception. We cannot wait to celebrate another year of publication with our contributors, staff, and community! We’ll see you there 🌍📖✍🏽

Thank you to everyone who attended our Page to Stage event hosted by our drama and fiction teams this week! We love chal...
04/18/2022

Thank you to everyone who attended our Page to Stage event hosted by our drama and fiction teams this week! We love challenging the boundaries of genre with you. Stay tuned for more upcoming earthwords events! 📖🪱🎉

Happy Friday, everyone🎈 Looking for something to do this weekend? Try checking out some of our fiction and drama team's ...
04/15/2022

Happy Friday, everyone🎈 Looking for something to do this weekend? Try checking out some of our fiction and drama team's recommendations!

Don't forget to stop by our Page to Stage event, hosted by the fiction and drama team! We hope to see you tonight at 7:30 in the Ge**er Lounge of EPB🎭📚

Welcome back toTeam Tuesday!  Today, we're proud to present our drama editors.  Here's a little bit about each of them f...
04/12/2022

Welcome back toTeam Tuesday! Today, we're proud to present our drama editors. Here's a little bit about each of them for you.

On the left, you have Cheyenne Mann. Cheyenne (they/them) is a third year studying chemistry and English/creative writing. They cried over a box elder bug last week, sleep too much, and absolutely cannot find their keys.

In the middle is Arlo Schneider. Arlo (he/him/they/them) is a fourth year theatre arts major and the result of a secret government program to create the most perfect boy of all time. The cat's out of the bag. He likes writing plays, honey wheat pretzels, and dogs. This is his first and only year on the earthwords team because he only needed a year to perfect the art of drama editoring. He is remarkably humble.

On the right is Sophia Kilburg. Sophia (she/her) is a third year student at the University of Iowa majoring in English on the publishing track and theatre arts. In addition to her work as a drama editor for earthwords: the undergraduate literary review, she is also a managing editor for Zenith Lit Mag. Previously, she has worked on the editorial boards of Horizon Magazine, Living Proof Anthology, and sanct literary magazine. In her free time, she can usually be found making tea or singing to her cat, Fig.

(Not Picutred) Aron is a second year english and creative writing major. He has an irrational fear of revolving doors and his dream job would be basically anything where he can write and get paid for it.

That's our drama team, and we're happy to have ‘em! Check in next week for another Team Tuesday🎭

The earthwords fiction and drama teams are joining forces for the second event in our ongoing collisions series, Stage t...
04/10/2022

The earthwords fiction and drama teams are joining forces for the second event in our ongoing collisions series, Stage to Page: A Collaborative Workshop on Embodying Written Language. Join us as we use adaptation techniques to explore the overlap between genres by turning a short story into a piece of drama! We hope to see you THIS FRIDAY, April 15th, in the Ge**er Lounge
📝📖 🪱

On this Team Tuesday, we’d like to introduce you all to our fiction editors. These folks managed all the fiction submiss...
04/05/2022

On this Team Tuesday, we’d like to introduce you all to our fiction editors. These folks managed all the fiction submissions while planning funky fresh fiction events during the 2022-23 academic year.

Natalie Muglia is a third-year student studying English and creative writing on the publishing track with a business administration minor. She loves rewatching Pride and Prejudice (2005), brewing homemade iced coffee, and voraciously reading contemporary romance novels. She hopes to one day work in the book publishing industry!

Ebbie Benson is a fourth-year student studying communications and political science while also pursuing a certificate in writing. She's a big fan of anything pop-culture and reading books that make her cry. In the future, she hopes to be working somewhere that contributes positively to the world around her.

Nicholas Runyon is a senior at the University of Iowa majoring in English and creative writing. In addition to being a fiction editor at earthwords, he is the Editor in Chief of New Moon Magazine and a fiction intern at The Iowa Review. He reads and writes both literary and fantasy fiction, dabbles in a poem or two, and has an accent that no one has been able to pin down, even in his hometown of Martinsville, NJ.

Thanks to everyone who attended our personal narrative open mic last week! We had the fabulous Melissa Febos start the e...
04/05/2022

Thanks to everyone who attended our personal narrative open mic last week! We had the fabulous Melissa Febos start the event off and heard from some great writers. Stay tuned for additional information about events and our team! 🪱

Today is #1DayForIowa! Please consider giving to the Magid Center to help support Earthwords and opportunities for write...
03/30/2022

Today is #1DayForIowa! Please consider giving to the Magid Center to help support Earthwords and opportunities for writers, artists, and editors on campus 📝🎨🎭

donate at: https://1dayforiowa.org/fa-mc22

Have you been looking for something new to read?  Try branching into nonfiction!  The earthwords nonfiction team has a c...
03/29/2022

Have you been looking for something new to read? Try branching into nonfiction! The earthwords nonfiction team has a couple recommendations for you. Sam’s current favorite is The Great Influenza by John M. Berry, and Jeff’s is Redefining Realness by Janet Mock. We hope you like them! 📖📚

Do you have something to say to us?  We thought so.  Join earthwords and Professor Melissa Febos for a night of personal...
03/24/2022

Do you have something to say to us? We thought so. Join earthwords and Professor Melissa Febos for a night of personal narrative at the nonfiction open mic night THURSDAY, MARCH 31st! We can't wait to see you there 📝

On this Team Tuesday, we’d like to introduce you all to our nonfiction genre team. These five have poured over submissio...
03/22/2022

On this Team Tuesday, we’d like to introduce you all to our nonfiction genre team. These five have poured over submissions while planning cool, informative nonfiction events during the 2022-23 academic year.

(From left to right)
Cassidy is a senior double majoring in English and creative writing and art history. She is graduating this spring, and is only a little worried about what comes after. She also currently serves as an editor for patchwork lit mag, New Moon Magazine, and zenith lit mag.

Amanda is a poet and creative nonfiction writer from Kansas City. In her free time, she can be found making collages, drinking cherry limeades, and rewatching 2000s romcoms. She hopes to continue her education and career in publishing in New York City.

Jeff is a senior studying English and creative writing on the publishing track. He is also pursing philosophy and ASL minors before he graduates this spring. A weird mix of topics to be sure, but he's happy to advocate for nonfiction everywhere he can.

Samuel enjoys reading fantasy and science fiction, listening to metal, doing yoga, eating good food, and finding new existential crises. He also currently serves as the literary magazine’s managing editor. A month after you’re introduced to this team, he’ll graduate with degrees in English and creative writing and philosophy. Scary.

(not photographed) Alex is a sophomore studying English and creative writing. They have worked with Ink Lit Mag and the Iowa Chapbook Prize before joining the earthwords staff.
Stay tuned for more exciting nonfiction earthwords events!

Address

Iowa City, IA
52242

Opening Hours

Monday 9am - 5pm
6pm - 4:30pm
Tuesday 8:30am - 5pm
6pm - 7pm
Wednesday 9am - 5pm
6pm - 7pm
Thursday 9am - 5pm
6pm - 7pm
Friday 9am - 5pm
6pm - 7pm

Website

earthwordsmag.com

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when earthwords: the undergraduate literary review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to earthwords: the undergraduate literary review:

Videos

Category

Our Story

earthwords: the undergraduate literary review showcases the best literary and artistic endeavors of students attending the University of Iowa, fosters an undergraduate literary community within Iowa City, and provides its staff members with the experience of producing a literary magazine in real time. While earthwords’ board, style, and length change every year, our dedication to promoting the creative works of the University of Iowa’s undergraduate body remains constant in every issue.

Get a copy of the latest issue at 305 N, Magid Center for Undergraduate Writing! CHECK OUT OUR NEW WEBSITE: https://earthwordsmag.com/

Nearby media companies


Other Magazines in Iowa City

Show All

Comments

Spotted: IWP Writers-in-Residence in the Iowa City Press-Citizen! Join us Friday for our last event of the IWP Fall Residency, Images of America, at Iowa City Public Library or online: an opportunity to hear their brief but often sharp-witted observations—in an 'open mic' format—on their experiences in the U.S. Free, all are welcome! https://fb.me/e/29zBKHs3E #exchangeourworld #theworldcomestoIowa The Writing University at UIOWA Iowa Cultural Corridor Alliance Think Iowa City Public Space One Iowa City UNESCO City of Literature Exchanges: Journal of Literary Translation earthwords: the undergraduate literary review Public Space One Exchange Programs - U.S. Department of State
So happy to have visiting writers in Shambaugh House again! Also glimpses of a few faces that will be familiar for IWP alumni (albeit partial faces 😷 — #MaskUpIA!): Caitlin, Josie, Hugh, Natasa, Chris; plus wonderful new staff: Chaz, Jahnavi, and of course others not pictured. It takes a team to navigate today’s challenges in bringing (currently) 14 writers from 14 different countries to #IowaCity! We are so grateful for our team’s hard work, and for our visiting writers’ trust and perseverance. Please celebrate with us by joining us online Friday for the first event of our 2021 Fall Residency! 5PM CST (GMT-6) this Friday, Oct. 8: fb.me/e/1J4kMz6D0 #exchangeourworld Iowa City UNESCO City of Literature Exchange Programs - U.S. Department of State The Writing University at UIOWA Iowa City Public Library University of Iowa Iowa City Downtown District Think Iowa City earthwords: the undergraduate literary review Exchanges: Journal of Literary Translation Iowa City Downtown District Coralville Public Library
Join the earthwords: the undergraduate literary review team! Apply by August 17th here. 👉 https://bit.ly/33EhiLs
earthwords: the undergraduate literary review's issue 40 has been launched! 🌍🌏🌎 Watch their page for information on getting a copy soon! 👀
For #FutureHawkeye Friday, we're reintroducing our student publications at the Magid Center for our new followers! Meet earthwords: The University of Iowa's original undergraduate literary review, earthwords: the undergraduate literary review strives to showcase the creative works of UI undergraduates in literature and the arts whild providing students with the educational experience of producing a literary magazine. Follow their work at earthwords: the undergraduate literary review. 📚✍️ w/ University of Iowa Admissions Office
#Throwback to open mic events with earthwords: the undergraduate literary review at The High Ground Cafe. We are so excited for the day when we'll be able to safely gather again. ❤️ WEAR YOUR MASK!!
Non-cis representation in earthwords: the undergraduate literary review issue 38; take your own copy off your shelf or see our Instagram to read the full piece. #PrideMonth ❤️
Aspiring to make the world this happy :) w/ earthwords: the undergraduate literary review issue 37
"The Blackest Eyes (Excerpt)" in earthwords: the undergraduate literary review issue 39. #BLM
Happy #WeWriteWednesday! Meet 2018 alum, Morgan Jones! In her time at Iowa, Morgan served as a nonfiction editor and event planner for earthwords: the undergraduate literary review and as an intern for The Iowa Review, among other roles. She now lives in New York City and works as an Assistant Editor at Bloomsbury. “The Magid Center and Iowa’s literary community were crucial to my success in school and after I graduated,” Morgan says. “The people I was lucky enough to collaborate with taught me so much, about me, about them, about our art. It’s because of those peers, mentors, and dear friends—and the many resources made available to me at the University of Iowa—that I wake up every day and go into work to live my dream.”
Wanna talk about art?! 🎨 "Elleh Driscoll interviewed Hayden Froehlich whose photograph Hurry is forthcoming in the 40th issue of earthwords: the undergraduate literary review." 👉 https://bit.ly/2XPC5rd
Happy #WeWriteWednesday! Today, we meet John Lyons: "I truly consider myself incredibly lucky to have had such wonderful experiences as an undergrad in the literary community here at Iowa, and the Magid Center was and continues to be an integral part of opening the door for me to make memories which I imagine I’ll treasure forever. Whether it be sitting in the Ink Lit Mag editors room as a freshman and slowly grasping what it means to work with a team of young artists, attending earthwords: the undergraduate literary review open mics and feeling the pulse of this invaluable literary community, or the many conversations I’ve had with fantastic mentors of mine in the Magid Center — I look back with real gratitude to have had such experiences and to have made such wonderful friends in this integral chapter of my development as a writer and person."
It's #WeWriteWednesday! Meet Rana Hewezi, current UI student! Here are Rana's wise words about why she writes and what the Magid Center means to her: "My whole life I read stories that denied my own. I sought homage on the page besides unfamiliar words, hoping to find a community by appealing to stories that could not speak on my heritage or biculturalism. I arrived at the University of Iowa with a budding story of my own and a voice that could not yet shape the words. Within Ink Lit Mag and earthwords: the undergraduate literary review, I saw the urgency of my narrative. I saw the need to bear my own story by acknowledging the diversity that my childhood books lacked. Today, I write my suppressed stories into existence. I write for the people who have tried and failed to find themselves in stories. And to all those people, I encourage you to write. Through your own narrative, you’ll find the story you were aching to read."
Happy #WeWriteWednesday! Today we meet Cassandra Chia! Here's what Cass had to say when asked why she writes and what the Magid Center means to her: "I write because it scares me. I've only been creatively writing for about a year now after taking an intro fiction writing class that changed my life, and I currently find myself about to graduate as an English AND Creative Writing major—something that I never thought I would be doing when I first left my home in Malaysia for the States. I've been reading for all my life but now I write because, before, I never allowed myself to even think about being the creator. I write to challenge myself, to let myself occupy this previously forbidden space. earthwords: the undergraduate literary review has been a big part of that journey. I work closely with a passionate team, and I am inspired every year by the work we publish, the events we organize, and the literary community we cultivate. No one writes in a vacuum. And I'm beyond grateful that earthwords, the Magid Center, the Theatre Department ,and all the people I've met here have become the support system I've needed, especially during this time of change and uncertainty."
Happy Saturday! 🥳 Here's some more #PoetryMonth reading material from earthwords: the undergraduate literary review.
Continuing our #PoetryMonth celebration, here's another undergraduate poem published in issue 39 of earthwords: the undergraduate literary review. 💙📬