Clicky

MIT Technology Review

MIT Technology Review Our in-depth reporting on innovation reveals and explains what’s really happening now to help you know what’s coming next. Subscribe.

Get our journalism: http://technologyreview.com/newsletters. A media company making technology a greater force for good by bringing about better-informed and more conscious decisions about technology through authoritative, influential, and trustworthy journalism.

Get our journalism: http://technologyreview.com/newsletters. A media company making technology a greater force for good by bringing about better-informed and more conscious decisions about technology through authoritative, influential, and trustworthy journalism.

Operating as usual

Last month, MIT Technology Review broke the news that a US startup claimed it had conducted a solar geoengineering exper...
01/28/2023
What Mexico’s planned geoengineering restrictions mean for the future of the field

Last month, MIT Technology Review broke the news that a US startup claimed it had conducted a solar geoengineering experiment in Baja California, Mexico. Then the Mexican government announced plans to ban related experiments.

The nation announced plans to ban experiments following a startup’s attempt to release reflective particles in the stratosphere, raising difficult questions among scientists exploring methods for cooling the planet.

A balanced diet, regular exercise, and stress reduction can help prevent heart disease—the world’s biggest killer. But w...
01/28/2023
Next up for CRISPR: Gene editing for the masses?

A balanced diet, regular exercise, and stress reduction can help prevent heart disease—the world’s biggest killer. But what if people could take a vaccine to prevent it, too?

Advances in gene editing may soon make that vision possible.

Last year, Verve Therapeutics started the first human trial of a CRISPR treatment that could benefit most people—a signal that gene editing may be ready to go mainstream.

In partnership with Thoughtworks Addressing concerns around data protection, privacy, inclusivity and biases in everyday...
01/27/2023

In partnership with Thoughtworks

Addressing concerns around data protection, privacy, inclusivity and biases in everyday technology platforms is an increasingly concrete consideration. However, many enterprises understand that responsibility differently.

Learn more here: https://ter.li/e0nhb0

In the world of cybersecurity, there is always one certainty: more hacks. Here are the types of attacks that experts pre...
01/27/2023
What’s next in cybersecurity

In the world of cybersecurity, there is always one certainty: more hacks. Here are the types of attacks that experts predict will occur this year.

“When it comes to really cutting off ransomware from the source, I think we took a step back.”

Social media algorithms seemingly change at whim, forcing creators—especially those from marginalized groups—to constant...
01/27/2023
How aspiring influencers are forced to fight the algorithm

Social media algorithms seemingly change at whim, forcing creators—especially those from marginalized groups—to constantly reevaluate the moderation practices of the platforms they use.

Figuring out social media platforms’ hidden rules is hard work—and it falls more heavily on creators from marginalized backgrounds.

Biological clocks hint at how many years of healthy life you have left. Our reporter tried one of these tools... and she...
01/27/2023
I found out my biological age—and was annoyed by the result

Biological clocks hint at how many years of healthy life you have left. Our reporter tried one of these tools... and she wasn't too pleased with her result.

Biological clocks hint at how many years of healthy life you have left. I was gutted to learn that my veggie diet and regular yoga haven't put me above average.

“It almost feels like you can't take a break.""I started having regular breakdowns.""I burned out really hard at one poi...
01/27/2023
Responsible AI has a burnout problem

“It almost feels like you can't take a break."

"I started having regular breakdowns."

"I burned out really hard at one point. And [the situation] just kind of felt hopeless."

Companies say they want ethical AI. But those working in the field say that ambition comes at their expense.

Companies say they want ethical AI. But those working in the field say that ambition comes at their expense.

Open-source code runs on every computer on the planet—and keeps America’s critical infrastructure going. DARPA is worrie...
01/27/2023
The US military wants to understand the most important software on Earth

Open-source code runs on every computer on the planet—and keeps America’s critical infrastructure going. DARPA is worried about how well it can be trusted.

Open-source code runs on every computer on the planet—and keeps America’s critical infrastructure going. DARPA is worried about how well it can be trusted

ChatGPT came up with some boring (and potentially risky) training plans, so don't take its fitness advice too seriously.
01/26/2023
People are already using ChatGPT to create workout plans

ChatGPT came up with some boring (and potentially risky) training plans, so don't take its fitness advice too seriously.

Fitness advice from OpenAI’s large language model is impressively presented—but don’t take it too seriously.

How will generative AI shape the future of industrial design? Stay ahead of the curve with this business report.
01/26/2023
Research Report: Generative AI in Industrial Design and Engineering — MIT Technology Review Research Reports

How will generative AI shape the future of industrial design? Stay ahead of the curve with this business report.

Product Description Generative AI is a category of algorithms which create original content based on a user’s instructions. Some of the most well-known examples, such as DALL-E-2 and Midjourney, produce stunning original images when given a written prompt. Generative AI’s impact on industrial de...

Aging contributes to the risk of developing a number of diseases. But is getting older a disease in and of itself?
01/26/2023
The debate over whether aging is a disease rages on

Aging contributes to the risk of developing a number of diseases. But is getting older a disease in and of itself?

In its latest catalogue of health conditions, the World Health Organization almost equated old age with disease. Then it backed off.

We wanted to learn what large language models know about our AI reporter and our editor in chief. Our findings raise som...
01/26/2023
What does GPT-3 “know” about me?

We wanted to learn what large language models know about our AI reporter and our editor in chief. Our findings raise some serious concerns around data protection and privacy.

Large language models are trained on troves of personal data hoovered from the internet. So I wanted to know: What does it have on me?

Patients looking for facts around cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome, a rare disorder affecting heavy ma*****na users, fac...
01/26/2023
The feud between a w**d influencer and scientist over puking stoners

Patients looking for facts around cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome, a rare disorder affecting heavy ma*****na users, faced an information landscape that was “largely terrible.” Then, a feud between a w**d influencer and a scientist made it worse.

A scientist went looking for genes that cause cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome. But a public spat with a cannabis influencer who suffers from the disease may have derailed his research.

A Roomba recorded a woman on the toilet. How did screenshots end up on Facebook? In this episode of In Machines We Trust...
01/25/2023
‎In Machines We Trust: House training a robot on Apple Podcasts

A Roomba recorded a woman on the toilet. How did screenshots end up on Facebook? In this episode of In Machines We Trust, go behind the scenes of an investigation that uncovered how sensitive photos taken by an AI powered vacuum were leaked and landed on the internet.

‎Show In Machines We Trust, Ep House training a robot - Jan 24, 2023

In the spirit of the Lunar New Year, our reporter revisited four of the people he interviewed in the last year and asked...
01/25/2023
Resolving to live the Year of the Rabbit to the fullest

In the spirit of the Lunar New Year, our reporter revisited four of the people he interviewed in the last year and asked about their goals and resolutions for the Year of the Rabbit.

Revisiting our favorite stories and people from the past year.

Some recent Innovators Under 35 are making it possible for familiar materials like glass and steel to have completely ne...
01/25/2023
Materials with nanoscale components will change what’s possible

Some recent Innovators Under 35 are making it possible for familiar materials like glass and steel to have completely new properties.

This year's 35 Innovators are making it possible for familiar materials like glass, steel, and electronics to have completely new properties.

On Tuesday, January 31, join us at the MIT Museum in Cambridge, Massachusetts for a free screening of Make People Better...
01/24/2023
Make People Better | MIT Museum

On Tuesday, January 31, join us at the MIT Museum in Cambridge, Massachusetts for a free screening of Make People Better, a new documentary about the daring scientific effort to create the world’s first gene-edited babies.

The screening will be followed by a panel discussion featuring MIT Technology Review’s senior biomedicine editor, Antonio Regalado, who appears in the film. Learn more about the event and RSVP here: https://bit.ly/3Hst4vW

Join us for a screening of a new documentary, followed by a panel discussion and audience Q&A.

An open standard called RISC-V lowers the barrier of entry to chip design. Its popularity could upend the semiconductor ...
01/24/2023
These simple design rules could turn the chip industry on its head

An open standard called RISC-V lowers the barrier of entry to chip design. Its popularity could upend the semiconductor industry's current power dynamics.

An open standard called RISC-V is rewriting the economics of chip design and shaking up the tech sector’s power dynamics.

Computer chip designs are expensive and hard to license. That’s all about to change thanks to the popular open standard ...
01/24/2023
A chip design that changes everything: 10 Breakthrough Technologies 2023

Computer chip designs are expensive and hard to license. That’s all about to change thanks to the popular open standard known as RISC-V. That's why it's one of the 10 Breakthrough Technologies of 2023.

Computer chip designs are expensive and hard to license. That’s all about to change thanks to the popular open standard known as RISC-V.

On one hand, chatting up a spam texter can invite even more spam texts to your phone. On the other hand, it can be kind ...
01/24/2023
The people using humour to troll their spam texts

On one hand, chatting up a spam texter can invite even more spam texts to your phone. On the other hand, it can be kind of funny.

Our phones are being inundated with text scams. Some people are using humor to fight back.

Address

196 Broadway
Cambridge, MA
02139

Products

Interested in subscribing? Visit this link: technologyreview.com/insider/pricing/

1-800-877-5230 for US
818-487-2088 for International

Twitter
twitter.com/techreview

Instagram
instagram.com/technologyreview

LinkedIn
linkedin.com/company/mit-technology-review/

Flipboard
flipboard.com/

RSS Feeds
technologyreview.com/corp/rss.aspx

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when MIT Technology Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to MIT Technology Review:

Videos

Nearby media companies


Other Magazines in Cambridge

Show All

Comments

Farmers use AI and satellites to monitor the health of their crops from space. On this episode of In Machines We Trust, learn how these satellites are built and tested.
Last month, MIT Technology Review broke the news that a US startup claimed it had conducted a solar geoengineering experiment in Baja California, Mexico. Then the Mexican government announced plans to ban related experiments.
A balanced diet, regular exercise, and stress reduction can help prevent heart disease—the world’s biggest killer. But what if people could take a vaccine to prevent it, too?

Advances in gene editing may soon make that vision possible.
In partnership with Thoughtworks

Addressing concerns around data protection, privacy, inclusivity and biases in everyday technology platforms is an increasingly concrete consideration. However, many enterprises understand that responsibility differently.

Learn more here: https://ter.li/e0nhb0

The tool could let teachers spot plagiarism or help social media platforms fight disinformation bots.
An online tool could help people navigate what can be a very difficult, expensive, and personal decision.
Today in The Download, our daily newsletter: watermarking AI text, and freezing eggs.
In the world of cybersecurity, there is always one certainty: more hacks. Here are the types of attacks that experts predict will occur this year.
Social media algorithms seemingly change at whim, forcing creators—especially those from marginalized groups—to constantly reevaluate the moderation practices of the platforms they use.
Biological clocks hint at how many years of healthy life you have left. Our reporter tried one of these tools... and she wasn't too pleased with her result.
“It almost feels like you can't take a break."

"I started having regular breakdowns."

"I burned out really hard at one point. And [the situation] just kind of felt hopeless."

Companies say they want ethical AI. But those working in the field say that ambition comes at their expense.
Three books lay bare the weirdness of how our brains process the world around us.
Open-source code runs on every computer on the planet—and keeps America’s critical infrastructure going. DARPA is worried about how well it can be trusted.
ChatGPT came up with some boring (and potentially risky) training plans, so don't take its fitness advice too seriously.
How will generative AI shape the future of industrial design? Stay ahead of the curve with this business report.
Today in The Download, our daily newsletter: ChatGPT workout plans, and cleaning up aviation.
x

Other Magazines in Cambridge (show all)

The Tech El Planeta Lone Beacon Adam Ritchie Brand Direction Boston TV Queer Women in Music - Boston 大紀元波士頓-Epoch Times Boston Rhode Island Lawyers Weekly Dollars & Sense The North Africa Journal CommonWealth Magazine JavawithJimmy Diaspora Catholic Network USA Rezo San Filtè Boston Globe Opinion