The Ephrata Review

The Ephrata Review Your #1 source for news in the Ephrata/Cocalico area. Hometown weekly newspaper serving the areas within the Ephrata and Cocalico School Districts since 1878.

Operating as usual

Phil Fassnacht Tribute Set for Monday Jan. 24With the postponement of its Jan. 7 game against Manheim Central, the Cocal...
01/19/2022

Phil Fassnacht Tribute Set for Monday Jan. 24

With the postponement of its Jan. 7 game against Manheim Central, the Cocalico boys basketball team will now honor Phil Fassnacht at the make-up game Jan. 24. Fassnacht, the legendary former star player, coach and teacher, passed away in October.

Jan. 24 — Cocalico vs. Manheim Central: Honoring Phil Fasnacht/Alumni Night The team will be honoring the late Phil Fassnacht at this game. Come out and support the team, celebrate Phil’s legacy and see old friends and teammates at the 1st annual Cocalico Boys basketball alumni night

Phil Fassnacht Tribute Set for Monday Jan. 24

With the postponement of its Jan. 7 game against Manheim Central, the Cocalico boys basketball team will now honor Phil Fassnacht at the make-up game Jan. 24. Fassnacht, the legendary former star player, coach and teacher, passed away in October.

Jan. 24 — Cocalico vs. Manheim Central: Honoring Phil Fasnacht/Alumni Night The team will be honoring the late Phil Fassnacht at this game. Come out and support the team, celebrate Phil’s legacy and see old friends and teammates at the 1st annual Cocalico Boys basketball alumni night

Balanced scoring leads Ephrata over the Bears...The Ephrata girls shook off a hard-fought loss to Penn Manor and got bac...
01/19/2022

Balanced scoring leads Ephrata over the Bears...The Ephrata girls shook off a hard-fought loss to Penn Manor and got back in the win column last Saturday afternoon. In a balanced scoring effort, led by Jasmine Griffin’s nine points, the Mounts turned back Section Two rival Elizabethtown 38-29....Destiny Lefever chipped in with eight points, while Brynn Adams and Cara Tiesi added six apiece for the Ephrata girls, who improved to 3-3 in league play (5-7 overall). Ephrata got a solid start, leading the Bears 19-11 at the half. Elizabethtown continued to fight and made it a six-point game, 29-23, going to the fourth, but the Mounts shot a perfect 4-of-4 at the foul line to help clinch it.

During action in the 132-pound bout, Cocalico’s Jalen Frederick finishes off a pin against CV’s Rey Ortiz. Frederick’s f...
01/19/2022

During action in the 132-pound bout, Cocalico’s Jalen Frederick finishes off a pin against CV’s Rey Ortiz. Frederick’s fall in 3:39 helped the Eagles beat the Buckskins 34-27 last Wednesday.

During action in the 132-pound bout, Cocalico’s Jalen Frederick finishes off a pin against CV’s Rey Ortiz. Frederick’s fall in 3:39 helped the Eagles beat the Buckskins 34-27 last Wednesday.

Cocalico’s Jonathan Rathman collects back points against Conestoga Valley’s Abdoul Akala on his way to a 15-1 major deci...
01/19/2022

Cocalico’s Jonathan Rathman collects back points against Conestoga Valley’s Abdoul Akala on his way to a 15-1 major decision in the 160-pound bout last Wednesday. Photos by Denise Mitchell

Cocalico’s Jonathan Rathman collects back points against Conestoga Valley’s Abdoul Akala on his way to a 15-1 major decision in the 160-pound bout last Wednesday. Photos by Denise Mitchell

Look for our jam-packed high school sports section in this week's Ephrata Review
01/19/2022

Look for our jam-packed high school sports section in this week's Ephrata Review

Stay warm and enjoy your Jan. 19 Ephrata Review!
01/19/2022

Stay warm and enjoy your Jan. 19 Ephrata Review!

Stay warm and enjoy your Jan. 19 Ephrata Review!

01/12/2022

We have received word that due to unforeseen circumstances, the service for longtime Ephrata basketball coach Dave Dubbs, originally scheduled for Thursday morning, has been postponed until a later date

Jan. 12 Ephrata Review
01/12/2022

Jan. 12 Ephrata Review

Jan. 12 Ephrata Review

01/12/2022
www.facebook.com

Six year ago today in front of Ephrata Review building...click on link

12/24/2021

The North Pole on Hayloft 
Address: 23 Hayloft Rd., Denver PA 17517

When: NOW until January 1st nightly lights on 5pm-9pm.

🚒🥾🎄January 1st from 5pm-7pm we will be holding a full drive thru FILL THE BOOT Drive at The North Pole on Hayloft! 🎄🥾🚒

It’s the time of year for holiday cheer, but one of our Hometown heroes and his family is in need of our help!

Brandon “Fluffy” Hilton is one of our own hometown heroes. He is a volunteer firefighter, son, brother, family and friend!

On December 4 Fluffy (Brandon) was admitted to the Reading hospital with Covid pneumonia. He is currently in the ICU and on a ventilator. He has lost all his strength due to not being able to walk or get out of the hospital bed.

The doctors are optimistic that is he going to pull through, but he will have a very long road of recovery ahead of him once he is able to come home.

From NOW until January 1st we will be FILLING THE BOOT with donations for Brandon to help pay his bills while he is in the hospital and for once he is able to come home. No donation is too small.

Please come out anytime between now and January 1st to enjoy our beautiful Christmas light display and help a hometown hero. ❤️ 🚒

🚒❤️🎄 PLEASE SHARE SHARE SHARE. 🚒🎄❤️

10/29/2021

Nearly all municipalities in our area have changed Trick or Treat night to Sunday, from 6-8 p.m. Enjoy what hopefully will be a much nicer evening!

09/09/2021

Please support the fire company if you can!

Lincoln Fire to hold chicken dinner fundraiser
Lincoln Fire Company volunteers will hold their semi-annual takeout chicken dinner Saturday, Sept. 11. The food will be supplied by Big John Nolt and will include baked beans, cheesy potatoes and a dessert. The cost is $10 per meal.
Meals can be picked up at the station, 38 S. Market St., Ephrata, from 10 a.m. until they are sold out, which previously happened within two hours.

Please support this show if you can...20 percent of proceeds go to Pioneer and Lincoln fire companies. Please share...So...
09/09/2021
Ticketing Information | Ephrata Performing Arts Center

Please support this show if you can...20 percent of proceeds go to Pioneer and Lincoln fire companies. Please share...
Solemn remembrance
EPAC presents post-9/11 one-act ‘The Guys’
By Michael C. Upton
Every American able to witness the events of Sept. 11, 2001, will always remember where they were when they heard about the largest terrorist attack on US soil.
“The Guys”, a play rekindling those memories, opened to a tepid crowd Thursday, Sept. 2 at the Ephrata Performing Arts Center.
I was living in Maine, using my GI Bill and Navy College Fund to attend the state university. I only had one class that day, later in the afternoon, and I started my day much like I always did — coffee, a dog walk, and some time in front of CNN. I tuned in just as breaking news cut to a smoking World Trade Tower. The image of a gaping hole in the upper floors of the north tower prompted me to grab a VHS tape and quickly jam it into the VCR. I set the machine for EP and hit record. I don’t know why I had this instinct to record the days events. Just like I don’t know why, a few hours later after the collapse of the north tower I wandered down to the small town’s local watering hole leaving the TV and VCR running back at the apartment.
I wasn’t alone. The daytime bartender had opened early. And over the next hour all the regulars came walking in. Every TV in the sports bar was tuned to CNN. We watched Wolf Blitzer report from New Jersey, a smoldering Manhattan in the background. I don’t think any of us ordered a drink. We were just 20 or 30 people who needed to be around people we knew, in a place where we knew we were safe. The day went on. We watched with horror and hung onto every new report. All of this flooded back as “The Guys” opened in a darkened Sharadin Bigler theatre with a flashback of audio and imagery of that fateful day.
We are in Manhattan, several weeks after 9/11, in the comfortable and well-lived-in apartment of Joan (Lynne DeMers-Hunt). Joan is an editor and serves as narrator and she tells us all is not well in her beloved Big Apple. The attacks have taken lives but also mangled the psyche of all New Yorkers, who like many, became “witnesses of the world.” One of those lives tragically touched by the events is Nick Flanagan (Bob Checchia), a fire captain who lost several men who responded to the World Trade Towers. Now he is tasked to write their eulogies, something he is struggling with immensely.
Joan offers to help. They spend the day talking about the men, Joan diagnosing her interview subject like a professional and Nick finding all the right emotion and memories to bring the men to life on a written page. The tension is raw. Feelings come flooding out of both Joan and Nick as they struggle to grasp a reason for 9/11 while trying to make sense of their own place in a new normal (well before our newest normal of today).
The performance takes place entirely in Joan’s apartment, except for the end when we see Nick, in his dress uniform, deliver a eulogy. Eulogy, via Merriam-Webster: a commendatory oration or writing especially in honor of one deceased. But it is so much more and “The Guys” shows us why.
“The Guys” is an exploration of humanity. It is a reflection of our emotion, our combined emotion, our sense of spirit in the face of tragedy. While this is a welcome feeling, to connect once again to that which ultimately makes us stronger, this is the kind of production that made me just want to sit in silence. As the house lights came on and the crowd milled about, after the applause had faded, I wanted silence. I wanted further reflection. I wanted to pull myself out of that emotional chasm slowly, respectfully, and with every bit of reverence I could muster in my soul. “The Guys” is the type of production you witness more than watch. It affects more than it tells. Great theatre does this.
DeMers-Hunt’s delivery is devastatingly emotional and charged with reality. Checchia, a native New Yorker turned EPAC regular, lends a credibility and sincerity to a character that may be as close to home as any other. The pair are true professionals on the stage. “The Guys” is directed by Sean Young with costuming by Kate Willman and set design by Jordan Janota. Young’s vision of this timely production was to give back to the firefighting community, and with the blessing of Artistic Director Ed Fernandez and the EPAC board of directors, 20 percent of all show proceeds will be donated to the Ephrata Pioneer and Lincoln fire departments.
“The Guys” runs Wednesday through Saturday, with two performances on Saturday, Sept. 11. Visit .ephrataperformingartscenter.com/tickets or call (717) 733-7966 ext.1 for ticket information.
Ticketing Information | Ephrata Performing Arts Center
EPHRATAPERFORMINGARTSCENTER.COM
Ticketing Information | Ephrata Performing Arts Center

09/09/2021

Please support them if you can!

Lincoln Fire to hold chicken dinner fundraiser
Lincoln Fire Company volunteers will hold their semi-annual takeout chicken dinner Saturday, Sept. 11. The food will be supplied by Big John Nolt and will include baked beans, cheesy potatoes and a dessert. The cost is $10 per meal.
Meals can be picked up at the station, 38 S. Market St., Ephrata, from 10 a.m. until they are sold out, which previously happened within two hours.

WARWICK GIRLS TENNIS FUNDRAISER FRIDAY AUG. 6The Warwick Girls Tennis Parents Association is having a fundraiser tomorro...
08/06/2021

WARWICK GIRLS TENNIS FUNDRAISER FRIDAY AUG. 6

The Warwick Girls Tennis Parents Association is having a fundraiser tomorrow, Friday Aug. 6 at the Five Guys in Ephrata. Five Guys has generously agreed to donate 20% of all sales earned between 5 and 9 p.m. to benefit the Warwick girls tennis team.
Mentioning you’re there to support the team—common with fundraisers at many other restaurants—is not necessary.

WARWICK GIRLS TENNIS FUNDRAISER FRIDAY AUG. 6

The Warwick Girls Tennis Parents Association is having a fundraiser tomorrow, Friday Aug. 6 at the Five Guys in Ephrata. Five Guys has generously agreed to donate 20% of all sales earned between 5 and 9 p.m. to benefit the Warwick girls tennis team.
Mentioning you’re there to support the team—common with fundraisers at many other restaurants—is not necessary.

The new Review is coming through!
07/28/2021

The new Review is coming through!

The new Review is coming through!

07/16/2021

‘Bark in the Park’ debuts in Akron
Local furry friends are anxious for the debut of “Bark in the Park” at Akron’s Loyd Roland Park, this Sunday, July 18 from 2-4 p.m.
The event is free with ticket raffles, gift certificates and gift baskets as prizes, along with some free food available. There will also be yard games, a doggie treat bag, costume contest, local treat vendors, “puppacino” stand, and of course, the “Doggie kissing booth.
All dogs must be on a leash and please bring along vaccination records.
Any questions can be directed by email to [email protected].

07/16/2021

LCBA gift card bingo
The Loyal Christian Benefit Association (LCBA) is holding a gift card bingo event at the Ephrata AMVETS, July 18.
The cost is $25 and that includes 20 games, 50/50 special, games and raffles. There is food to purchase.
Doors open at noon and bingo starts at 1 p.m.
The AMVETS is located at 164 S. State St. in Ephrata.
There are only 150 tickets available for this event. Contact Edie at 717-989-4555.

There's Stan the Man!
07/14/2021

There's Stan the Man!

Happy 80th Birthday Stan Hall, Ephrata Review Photographer

07/14/2021
Pick up the new edition or read online!
07/14/2021

Pick up the new edition or read online!

Pick up the new edition or read online!

Pick up the new edition or read online!
07/14/2021

Pick up the new edition or read online!

The July 7 Ephrata Review
07/08/2021

The July 7 Ephrata Review

Missi Mortimer's photos of Ephrata at Cocalico Lanco Baseball at Denver Park Tuesday, June 15, Ephrata's (12) Drew Hurst...
06/23/2021

Missi Mortimer's photos of Ephrata at Cocalico Lanco Baseball at Denver Park Tuesday, June 15, Ephrata's (12) Drew Hurst and (21) Brenden Kapczynski. Cocalico's Coltin Oberholtzer (20).

More of Missi Mortimer photos at Woodridge Classic: Elizabeth Myers , Sophia Hahn, and Mia Pfautz.
06/23/2021

More of Missi Mortimer photos at Woodridge Classic: Elizabeth Myers , Sophia Hahn, and Mia Pfautz.

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ethan Lloyd 100 IM
06/23/2021

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ethan Lloyd 100 IM

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ephrata Tidal Waves Bria Burkhold...
06/23/2021

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ephrata Tidal Waves Bria Burkholder in 100 IM.

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ephrata Tidal Waves Bria Burkholder in 100 IM.

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ephrata Tidal Waves Cooper Simes ...
06/23/2021

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ephrata Tidal Waves Cooper Simes in 100 IM

Missi Mortimer got some great shots at Woodridge Swim Club Classic Swim meet Saturday: Ephrata Tidal Waves Cooper Simes in 100 IM

The Whistle Stop Party on the Plaza featured music by Two Pints Shy.  Amy Spangler photos.
06/23/2021

The Whistle Stop Party on the Plaza featured music by Two Pints Shy. Amy Spangler photos.

The Whistle Stop Party on the Plaza: Henna artist Barti Solanki, left, creates a temporary henna tattoo on the hand of 6...
06/23/2021

The Whistle Stop Party on the Plaza: Henna artist Barti Solanki, left, creates a temporary henna tattoo on the hand of 6-year-old Areli Waldner, as his mom Heidi Wurtz looks on. Amy Spangler photo.

The Whistle Stop Party on the Plaza: Henna artist Barti Solanki, left, creates a temporary henna tattoo on the hand of 6-year-old Areli Waldner, as his mom Heidi Wurtz looks on. Amy Spangler photo.

Amy Spangler got some great shots at last weekend's Whistle Stop Plazy Party  ...Henna artist Barti Solanki, right, crea...
06/23/2021

Amy Spangler got some great shots at last weekend's Whistle Stop Plazy Party ...Henna artist Barti Solanki, right, creates a temporary henna tattoo on the hand of 3-year-old Aiden Waldner as his mom Heidi Wurtz looks on.

Amy Spangler got some great shots at last weekend's Whistle Stop Plazy Party ...Henna artist Barti Solanki, right, creates a temporary henna tattoo on the hand of 3-year-old Aiden Waldner as his mom Heidi Wurtz looks on.

New Ephrata Review on sale and available digitally today
06/23/2021

New Ephrata Review on sale and available digitally today

New Ephrata Review on sale and available digitally today

06/23/2021

Hot off the press...Different format this year for Lititz Craft Beer Fest, tickets go on sale July 5 at 5 p.m.

The new Ephrata Review is now available.
06/16/2021

The new Ephrata Review is now available.

The new Ephrata Review is now available.

Address

1 E Main St
Ephrata, PA
17522

Opening Hours

Monday 8am - 5pm
Tuesday 8am - 5pm
Wednesday 8am - 5pm
Thursday 8am - 5pm
Friday 8am - 5pm

Telephone

(717) 733-6397

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when The Ephrata Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to The Ephrata Review:

Videos

140 Years Strong!

The Ephrata Review is a community newspaper that has been covering local happenings, from the school athletic field to the borough council chambers, since 1878.

Are you aware of something newsworthy? Submit your stories and photos to [email protected]

Nearby media companies


Other Media/News Companies in Ephrata

Show All

Comments

Thank you to our friends The Ephrata Review for the great story on our upcoming Journey to Bethlehem. You can read it online at https://ephratareview-pa.newsmemory.com/
Thank you Eric Stark from The Ephrata Review!
For those who have lost a spouse, Speedwell Heights Church will be offering a one-day seminar on "Loss of a Spouse," October 17th at 2pm. https://www.facebook.com/events/534387131219401
We hope everyone is enjoying the downtown planters! 🌺 THANK YOU to the businesses that sponsored this year! Hampton Inn and Suites Ephrata-Mountain Springs @ephratahampton Friends of Rep Dave Zimmerman Good Samaritan Services @goodsamserv Denver-Ephrata Area Rotary Club Paul L. Gravenor Home For Funerals, Inc. Black Forest Brewery @blackforestbrewery Scott Eaby @scotteaby Go Kinetic Home @gokinetichome The Groves Retirement Home Pyfer Reese Straub Gray & Farhat PC Ramor Properties Micheners @micheners_engraving_inc Mayor Ralph Mowen The Ephrata Review Lancaster Farming Windsor-Mount Joy Mutual/GR Klinefelter Underwriters Ephrata National Bank @ephratanationalbank Salon Art-Tiff @salonarttiff Ephrata Borough, PA Government Douple Insurance Agency @doupleinsuranceagency 🌼
Looking for a framing crew to frame a house in Jim Thorpe , the framing crew that was scheduled bailed , I’m starting it myself could use some help , let me know what you charge , need done ASAP , the lumber load has been sitting there 3- weeks covered , I need it framed ..! TIA David 570-249-7225
In this clip from Ep. 12 of Lancaster Connects, we talk to Larry Alexander, correspondent for The Ephrata Review and bestselling author and historian, about Lancaster native, the late Major Dick Winters, and the Band of Brothers story. Full Episode: https://fb.watch/5MDYJy7S3R Get the COMPLETE list of local events and food truck stops, and all the shownotes, resources and links to listen or watch on your favorite podcast or video platform: https://bit.ly/lancasterconnects-ep12 😴 This show is sponsored by Gardner's Mattress & More in Lancaster, PA! Get your FREE copy of Ben McClure and Jeff Giagnocavo's book - "Sleep Better": https://gardnersmattressandmore.com/sleep-better 👉 Larry Alexander: LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/larry-alexander-ab4884126 Larry's books on Amazon: "Biggest Brother: The Life Of Major Dick Winters, The Man Who Led The Band of Brothers" https://amzn.to/34k7Bkw "In the Footsteps of the Band of Brothers: A Return to Easy Company's Battlefields with Sgt. Forrest Guth" https://amzn.to/2QQQm7g #LancasterCounty #LancasterPA #LancasterCountyPA #LancasterConnects #Ephrata #BandOfBrothers #MemorialDay #MajorDickWinters #EasyCompany #101st
THIS IS WHAT WE KNOW SO FAR MORE INFO COMING SAVE THE DATE Aug 21st Team Jennifer Cahill Charities would like to thank PARC and AFRC for heading up an event benefitting female Veterans with terminal cancer. We look forward to working with them on this venture and appreciate their support. Venue: Reinholds Fire Company 138 W Main Street Reinholds PA. Ride Registration: 9 AM Kick Stands Up: 11:00 AM $15 per bike $5.00 per passenger RAFFLE AND 50/50: Raffle Drawings begin between 1:30-2:00 PM We will have: corn hole, dunk tank, and activities for kids, (bouncy houses, sprinkler area and more, craft/ product vendors, hot dog stand and food trucks (tbd) DJ 9-2PM (time maybe adjusted) 2 BANDS Set times First band (soon to be announced) 3:00-4:30 BUCKSKIN WHISKEY 5:00-7:00 Cruise in 4-8 PM More details to follow as they come available.... Again, this is just to get the date out there and give an idea of the days events.
How many of the nay-sayers complaining about the new 222/322 interchange have ever driven through a diverging diamond? How many have ridden in an ambulance with a loved one injured at the archaic old interchange. How many have buried a friend killed at that very intersection?
Coverage where it counts the most. "Many burglars are opportunists, but they also know what they want to do and how they’re going to do it. Most of them know more about home security than the average home owner. It’s their job after all. If you have poorly placed outdoor security cameras, or a dummy burglar alarm fitted, the experienced thief will know about it." contact www.escosecurity.com for your free evaluation and a chance to win a $100 gift card. *The $100 gift card offer is only valid during the month of May, but the peace of mind that ESCO can offer lasts a lifetime.* Avigilon Lancaster Lancaster Lititz PA Ephrata, Pennsylvania LNP + LancasterOnline PennLive.com Reading Eagle The Ephrata Review
Please read the attachment from The Ephrata Review. Route 322 will be shutdown at Route 222 for the weekend of 5/14. Please make appropriate plans if you need to travel in this area.
Come and show your support for our female Veterans May 15 2021. Team Jennifer Cahill Charities is a 501c3 non-profit all volunteer organization benefiting female Veterans with terminal cancer. This is a jammed packed day beginning at 8 AM with a vendor show. Location: Rienholds PA Days events: vendor show beginning at 8 AM, registration for the main event beginning at 10 AM, main event starts at 11:30 AM with an invocation, presentation of colors, national Anthem, ride route reviews and drivers route review, DJ, 3 live bands, a brief about the charity, ending the day with a brief benediction, rifle volley and taps in honor of all our female Veterans who have lost their battle with cancer. More information: See our page at Team Jennifer Cahill Charities registered 501c3, find us on the web at tjcc.site, or give us a call at 717-371-3035 We do have advanced tickets available, $10 donation for the advance tickets. https://fb.me/e/3yKOEw7YC
Grab a cup of your favorite hot beverage and join Operations Manager, Jason Moyer as he talks about a Network Access solution on this episode of Voltage Drop Cafe. Lancaster Ephrata, Pennsylvania Lititz PA Community The Ephrata Review Ephrata Review-Ads LNP + LancasterOnline