Drag Boat Review

Drag Boat Review Drag Boat Racing magazine
(14)

Drag Boat Review is published 11 times per year and includes in-depth coverage of drag boat races from all across the country under the sanctions of the Arizona Drag Boat Association, Columbia Drag Boat Association (CDBA), Kentucky Drag Boat Association (KDBA), Lucas Oil Drag Boat Racing Series (LODBRS), National Jet Boat Association (NJBA), and Southern Drag Boat Association (SDBA).

Mission: Founded in 1996, Drag Boat Review was established to promote the sport of Drag Boat Racing through positive reinforcement media exposure in order to give it the recognition it so richly deserves.

HEADED TO PRESS! Complete coverage of the SDBA Showdown In San Angelo! To order a subscription or to purchase a single i...
07/25/2020

HEADED TO PRESS! Complete coverage of the SDBA Showdown In San Angelo! To order a subscription or to purchase a single issue, visit us online at www.dragboatreview.com

07/23/2020
Lucas Oil Speedway

Lucas Oil Speedway

August 1st-2nd, 2020: KDBA Drag Boat Show-Me Shootout Presented by Lucas Oil on Lake Lucas

In the middle of summer, nothing's better than a day at the lake - with roaring, thundering drag boats! Bring the whole family for all the water shredding fun at the KDBA Drag Boat Show-Me Shootout presented by Lucas Oil. It's two full days of white-knuckle excitement where every seat puts you in the middle of the action! It all happens August 1st and 2nd and its ONLY at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri.
For tickets and info, visit LucasOilSpeedway.com.
Lucas Oil Speedway - Where Motorsports Come to Life!

The racing community mourns the loss of engine tuner Mike Boyce, who passed away early Wednesday morning, July 22nd from...
07/22/2020

The racing community mourns the loss of engine tuner Mike Boyce, who passed away early Wednesday morning, July 22nd from COVID-19. His wife, Teena, is currently in quarantine. Our thoughts and prayers are with Teena and the entire Boyce family and friends.

Marble Falls/Lake LBJ Chamber of Commerce
07/15/2020

Marble Falls/Lake LBJ Chamber of Commerce

Lakefest Drag Boat Races 2020- Cancelled has been officially cancelled with the unanimous agreement between Health+City Officials, Chamber of Commerce, and SDBA Southern Drag Boat Association LLC. All tickets will be refunded. Please read the press release below for more information:

HEADED TO PRESS WITH THE SDBA PARIS POWERBOAT GRAND PRIX AND KDBA INAUGURAL SUMMER THUNDER AT LAKE LUCAS! To order a sub...
07/04/2020

HEADED TO PRESS WITH THE SDBA PARIS POWERBOAT GRAND PRIX AND KDBA INAUGURAL SUMMER THUNDER AT LAKE LUCAS! To order a subscription or back issues visit us at www.dragboatreview.com

Lions Automobilia Foundation
06/30/2020

Lions Automobilia Foundation

The Motorsports Community is grieving the loss of Racing Legend, Mike Kuhl, who passed away Tuesday evening. Mike leaves behind a legacy of designing and building highly competitive race engines that outperformed the competition on land and on the water. Mike journeyed from his hometown of St. Louis, Missouri to Southern California in 1964. Upon arriving, Mike worked for Louie Unser’s Engine Shop but quickly developed his own engine building style which lead him to open Mike Kuhl Racing.

In 1971 Mike teamed up with race car driver Carl Olson as co-owner and crew chief and together they dominated the quarter mile. Kuhl’s tuned dragsters won the Winternationals, the March Meet, and The Last Drag Race at Lions Drag Strip, plus secured a IHRA world championship. In 2007 Kuhl and Olson were awarded the NHRA California Hot Rod Reunion Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Legends like Mike Kuhl inspired the building of the Lions Drag Strip Museum and his accomplishments will continue to be remembered”, stated, Lions Automobilia Foundation and Lions Drag Strip Museum Founder Rick Lorenzen.

Beautiful Photo taken by Marc Gewertz

Friday "Show & Shine" to kick off return of Drag Boat racing to Lake Lucas
06/08/2020
Friday "Show & Shine" to kick off return of Drag Boat racing to Lake Lucas

Friday "Show & Shine" to kick off return of Drag Boat racing to Lake Lucas

WHEATLAND, Mo. (June 8, 2020) - For the first time since 2018, drag boat racing returns to Lucas Oil Speedway next weekend and a big kickoff is planned for the Inaugural Drag Boat Summer Thunder on Lake Lucas. A Drag Boat "Show & Shine" party is scheduled from 5-7 p.m. Friday on the Wheatland town s...

06/07/2020

Congratulations to the SDBA for putting on a safe and successful race in Paris Texas!
Congratulations also to the Winners and Runners Up!
TAH
Rick Allen/ Total Kaos 4.46
Andy Reynolds / Running With Scissors (broke)
TAF
Bill Miller / Party To The Max
5.51
PRO JET
Nathan Haynes / Non Cents 3.91
Robert Led better / Honey Badger 4.02 (R/L)
PRO OUTLAW
Eric Dement / Real Bad Boy 5.26
Jim Richards / Alka Hauler 5.30
PRO COMP FLAT
Frank Carter / Flat Flyin' 6.09
Witchy Woman / Tom Wingo 6.87
PRO MOD
Robin Reed / Wound Too Tight 7.56
Daryl Ehrlich / Outta Reach 5.49 (R/L)
QUICK ELIMINATOR
Rock Guthrie / Pure Insanity 6.08
Tommy Rice / Electro freeze 6.35
PRO ELIMINATOR
Vic Fugate / Blacked Out 6.64
Mallory Carroll / Hydro Therapy 6.35
MODIFIED ELIMINATOR
Jesse James Jr / Outlaw 7.03 (hole shot)
Steve Walls / Happy Hour
8.007
TOP ELIMINATOR
Patrick Peterson / El Diabolo 9.180
Jason Gothard / 8.924
PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
Nate Stephenson / Dominator 13.05
Angele Shaw / B-N-Bad 13.09
CLOSEST DIAL IN (sponsored by Drag Boat Review)
Steve Walls / Happy Hour 8.0070
BEST REACTION TIME
Woody's Golden #175 .0210

We'll see you in Wheatland next weekend!

06/02/2020
Exciting news for my Drag Boat Racing!

Exciting news for my Drag Boat Racing!

Paris Texas drag boat racers will have a chance to win the green #1 Qualifier hat in each of the racing classes and then the names will be put in a drawing f...

PLEASE NOTE SCHEDULE CHANGES
05/29/2020

PLEASE NOTE SCHEDULE CHANGES

At Press!This issue features:REMEMBERING NANCY DAVISADBA SOUTHWEST SHOWDOWNADBA SALUTE TO THE CHAMPIONSKDBA SALUTE TO TH...
05/14/2020

At Press!
This issue features:
REMEMBERING NANCY DAVIS
ADBA SOUTHWEST SHOWDOWN
ADBA SALUTE TO THE CHAMPIONS
KDBA SALUTE TO THE CHAMPIONS
SDBA SALUTE TO THE CHAMPIONS

To order a single copy or subscribe online visit us a www.dragboatreview.com

Get your new catalog today!
04/15/2020

Get your new catalog today!

Update on 2020 Race Schedule
04/13/2020

Update on 2020 Race Schedule

PJS Racing
03/30/2020

PJS Racing

Since there is nothing to do during this COVID-19 pandemic, we are giving away 3 FREE PJS Racing hats and cups!!

To be entered into the drawing like our page and share this post💥
Drawing will be Friday at 6:30pm CST, live on Facebook.

Good Luck!!! #pjsgiveaway #covid19 #quarantine

03/20/2020

** IMPORTANT UPDATE:
Temporary Shut Down
due to Corona Virus Health Order
Until Further Notice.

------------------------------------------------------------
March 20^th, 2020

Dear Valued Customer:

Last night on March 19^th, 2020 California Governor Gavin Newsom issued “a Stay at Home Order for the entire state effective March 19^th at 11:59pm. This order is to further restrict and limit the spread of the virus and to ensure the healthcare delivery system is capable of serving all.”

We at Air Flow Research will be complying with this Health Order and will be temporarily shutting our doors as stated above or until further notice from the Government.

Currently, we are formulating a plan to continue providing some services to our customers remotely in the interim. Please bear with us as we work through this process. With a small, select staff we will resume answering phones, emails and processing of orders as soon as possible. Response time and wait times may be longer than normal, but we will get to you as quickly as we can.

Finally, there will be NO OUTGOING SHIPMENTS until we are allowed back into our offices effective today.

Thank you in advance for your understanding as we all work through this unprecedented event together.

Please be safe!

Best Regards,

The AFR team.

============================================================
Copyright © 2020 Air Flow Research, All rights reserved.
Media only contact list for AFR Press Releases and New Information.

Our mailing address is:
Air Flow Research
28611 Industry Drive
Valencia, Ca 91355
USA

Debi Julius, President of Racers Emergency Support Program has posted several beautiful photos on the website, www.racer...
03/17/2020
R.E.S.P

Debi Julius, President of Racers Emergency Support Program has posted several beautiful photos on the website, www.racersesp.org as a tribute to Nancy Davis. Get out the tissues before you start looking through the Gallery. Beautifully done!

Our Mission Statement Says it all... "Dedicated to assisting, both financially and emotionally, the families of drag boat racers that have been injured or killed while participating in the sport...

03/17/2020
Arizona Drag Boat Association

Arizona Drag Boat Association

***UPDATE ON THUNDER ON THE RIVER 2 EVENT***

Well we just received the call we were dreading. The casino has decided that all events are cancelled until further notice due to the recommendations from the CDC and Governor Ducey. This is unfortunate as we were looking forward to time together to escape the craziness that is going on right now and just go racing.

We understand how this affects you all, we are racers too at the end of the day. Believe me when I say we have already put so much work and efforts in to equipment maintenance, repairs, time preparing, etc. So much goes in to the preparation weeks ahead of time. This is not an ideal situation for any one. However we do understand the need for it during this time.

We ask that you give us space today so we can make all of the necessary phone calls we need to all of our volunteers, sponsors, partners and take the time to cancel travel arrangements, etc.

We will be moving all pre-registered entires to the next event that you are attending. Let's hope this event ban doesn't last long. In the mean time, go wash your hands!

Jeremy & Jenn

03/14/2020
National Jet Boat Association

National Jet Boat Association

We are with great regret to inform our members that the March race had been canceled!!! County has decide due to the current circumstances there will be no race at lake Ming

Apologies NJBA Staff

HEADED TO PRESS! This issue features the NJBA Octoberfest and Rodger Roadstrom Memorial Season Finals. To subscribe or o...
02/25/2020

HEADED TO PRESS! This issue features the NJBA Octoberfest and Rodger Roadstrom Memorial Season Finals. To subscribe or order a single copy visit us online at www.dragboatreview.com

Copied from Alesha Thompson Helm's post. Please help if you can:For those of you that have not heard we have a friend an...
01/14/2020

Copied from Alesha Thompson Helm's post. Please help if you can:

For those of you that have not heard we have a friend and an Outlaw boat racer that was involved in an accident a few weeks ago. He has been in the hospital and has suffered paralysis from his neck down. Although he has regained some movement he still has a long road to recovery. He has undergone surgery and is currently waiting on a second surgery.

Stephen Edwards aka Big Steve is not the type of person to ask anyone for help- but he needs our help as he has no medical insurance.

His daughter Kasey Lewis has sent me information - stating a benefit barrel race will be held for him on May 30th at the Marshall Texas City Arena. They are looking for sponsors, donations for auction and much more.

We as a boat group always try to help people in need whenever we can especially one of our own, it just so happens that it isn’t boating season and that makes it harder to gather up donations. Please keep Big Steve in your prayers as the next few months are going to be hard on him. Pray for a full recovery!

Kasey’s pay pal address is listed below for anyone wishing to donate directly to him -

[email protected]

I am attaching the information on the barrel race so you have all the information needed.

If anyone has questions - Kasey is a member here please feel free to tag her.

Thank you all in advance - I know Big Steve and his family will appreciate anything extra you may have.

Information on Fundraiser

Hey! We officially have a date for the Run for Steve benefit barrel race. It will be May 30th 2020 at the Marshall Texas City Arena. We are currently looking for any donations, sponsorships or even silent action items. If you would like to send a donation or be a sponsor please send money with your information to [email protected] and your logo to [email protected]. If silent auctions items need to be picked up, I can meet or come by. Just let me know. If you’re unable to make a donation, sponsorship or give a silent auction item, I am just asking that you spread the word. We are hoping for a big turn out. Thank you so much in advance.

01/12/2020

Mission: The Oklahoma Hot Boat Association (OHBA) is a family oriented club that aims to raise awareness and camaraderie of performance boaters throughout Oklahoma and surrounding areas.

History: The OHBA was formed in 2007 by the local hot boaters that enjoy Okmulgee State Park as their local boating lake. Their goal was to promote the Okmulgee Hot Boat Bash which occurred annually in August and is still held every year to this day. In 2016 the club’s name was changed from Okmulgee Hot Boat Association to Oklahoma Hot Boat Association, in order to reflect the club’s expansion and inclusion of events to be held at various lakes across the State of Oklahoma. The OHBA still calls Okmulgee Lake home and the club goals remain the same just with the added adventure of bringing the fun and show to neighboring lakes. The OHBA was formed by twelve members and has grown by leaps and bounds every year as word spreads of the organization. Members come from all around; Oklahoma City and Tulsa areas, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri and Texas, to name a few. The OHBA maintains that the club is for anyone interested in the sport of performance boating, from the weekend warrior to the full blown race team. The OHBA welcomes all!

Meetings: Meetings are held with notice posted. The locations for events and meetings will be posted here prior to with as much notice as possible.

Membership: Dues are $35.00 per year per family.

Payments: You may pay payments using cash, check or money order when you arrive at an event or meeting.

Come join the fun and fellowship the OHBA has to offer! We hope to see you at our next event!

Merry Christmas from Drag Boat Review! The new issue is headed to press! This issue features the CDBA Northwest National...
12/23/2019

Merry Christmas from Drag Boat Review! The new issue is headed to press! This issue features the CDBA Northwest Nationals, the KDBA Waterstreet Riverfest and the NJBA Mike Fry Memorial race. To order your own subscription, give a gift subscription or order copies of this issue, please visit us online at www.dragboatreview.com.

Thank you T&D Machine!!
12/15/2019

Thank you T&D Machine!!

PRI 2019 Representing

Smithville – Thomas “Tom” Wayne Morrow, 87, died Sunday, December 8, 2019 at the North Mississippi Medical Center, Tupel...
12/09/2019
Thomas Wayne Morrow - View Obituary & Service Information

Smithville – Thomas “Tom” Wayne Morrow, 87, died Sunday, December 8, 2019 at the North Mississippi Medical Center, Tupelo, MS. Born on August 8, 1932, in Fulton, MS, he was the son of the late Coy Morrow and Jewell Umfress Morrow.

Tom graduated Itawamba Agricultural High School and Itawamba Community College. He moved to Memphis, TN, in 1951. Tom married Lenta Zoe Garner Morrow on April 12, 1952 and together they had two daughters, Marsha Lynn Holloway (deceased) and Melisa Diane Stroud.

He was employed by Layne and Bowler as Engineering Manager for 26 years. This is where his interests in water pumps lead him to a new career. He opened his own business “Jet Pump Repair, Inc.” where he designed, built, and invented new ways to improve jet pumps used in Jet Boat Racing. He was never interested in driving a race boat yet he was passionate in figuring ways to improve speed and safety in the sport of boat racing. He was the owner of several race boats, Final Edition, Blown Dollars and the co-owner of boats such as Tennessee Thunder, which all held world racing records. He was well known from coast to coast as “The Pump Man”.

Tom was a founding member and served on the Board of Directors of the Mid South Drag Boast Association. Some of his other interests were naturally built around speed, like attending Nascar races where he was always cheering on Dale Earndhart, and NHRA races. Tom is survived by his wife, Lynn; daughter, Melisa “Missy” Stroud (L.D.), New Blaine, AR; grandchildren, Andy Holloway (Casey), Amory, MS, Brad Thompson, Austin, AR, Cassie Baldwin (Bill), North Little Rock, AR; great grandchildren, Mac Kane, Saltillo, MS, Noe Holloway, Memphis, TN, Reed Holloway, Amory, MS, Andi Kate Holloway, Amory, MS, Beau and Charlie Baldwin, North Little Rock, AR; brother, Paul Morrow, Smithville, MS; several nieces and nephews.

In addition to his parents, he was preceded in death by his daughter, Marsha Lynn Holloway in 1999; brother, Billy Morrow in 1999.

Funeral services for Tom will be held on Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at 11:00 am at Smithville Baptist Church, Smithville with Bro Wes White officiating. Burial will follow in New Salem Cemetery, Itawamba County, MS.

Visitation for family and friends will be Tuesday evening, December 10, 2019, from 5-8 pm at church in Smithville, MS.

Memories and condolences may be shared with his family at EEPickleFuneralHome.com

Share Memories and Support the Family.

Address

Eufaula, OK
74432

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Drag Boat Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Drag Boat Review:

Category

Nearby media companies


Other Eufaula media companies

Show All

Comments

WELCOME to our FIRST INTERNATIONAL Ambassador! Charlotte Camsey Speed Boat Racer from Exmouth, Devon, United Kingdom is our newest member of the IWMA and will be an amazing Ambassador for us!
You gonna have someone covering the Parker ADBA race for this weekend? Would like to see some good coverage on this one.
Call if we can help www.Alkydigger.com Enderle- The Blower Shop - RCD- Milodon
Music City USA ................. We have water too :)
Welcome to Alkydigger.com for Blowers, Fuel Injection , Ignitions, We are a regular Advertiser in Drag Boat review. 615-457-3192
Alkydigger.com Worlds largest Enderle dealer, Blower Shop , MSD Warehouse, Milodon, RCD, Call and let us help you with your build .
Have a Drag Boat for sale. 1979 Mach 7 Tunnel Hull...Blown 454 Chevy-950 HP/ runs on Aviation fuel. Fast, with low hours. $11,000.00 Cash or best offer. See by appointment only. Call Ed at: 209-217-4228, after 10:00 AM.
I want everybody to know on the drag racing circuit and anyone that has anything to do with Mike Klein stop it now he is a thief he stole $50,000 from me and was supposed to build me a boat and then move to Texas and told me to screw off now he is back in Florida beware of Mike Cline
thanks billy this keep me up on top of the drage boat imfo-willis
I know its dragboat stuff how about some historic stuff from the good old days,Gns, KTs, BFJets, ill send u one