Clicky

Library Journal

Library Journal Library Journal is the most trusted and respected publication for the library community. Born 140 years ago from the mind of Melvil Dewey, Library Journal remains the oldest publication in the library field.

LJ is read today by more than 100,000 library directors, administrators, librarians and staffers, hipsters and traditionalists alike. Between the print magazine and libraryjournal.com, LJ's comprehensive coverage includes analytical news and features ranging from gadget-geek technology to the nitty-gritty of boardroom policy. LJ's Book Review weighs in on nearly 7000 books annually, from the seemi

LJ is read today by more than 100,000 library directors, administrators, librarians and staffers, hipsters and traditionalists alike. Between the print magazine and libraryjournal.com, LJ's comprehensive coverage includes analytical news and features ranging from gadget-geek technology to the nitty-gritty of boardroom policy. LJ's Book Review weighs in on nearly 7000 books annually, from the seemi

Operating as usual

Librarians shared how they turned the data from their collection diversity audits into action at the Public Library Asso...
04/02/2022
After the Audit | PLA 2022

Librarians shared how they turned the data from their collection diversity audits into action at the Public Library Association conference in Portland, OR

Collection Diversity audits, while crucial, can present a daunting challenge. What can tip the balance toward deciding the work is worth it is a concrete plan for how the knowledge gained can be directly translated into action. At the “After the Collection Diversity Audit” session at PLA, a mixt...

PEN America convened a virtual discussion about the use of e-reader tablets in prisons and book censorship behind bars. ...
04/02/2022
The Cost of Reading in Prisons: Book Censorship and E-Reader Tablets in Carceral Institutions

PEN America convened a virtual discussion about the use of e-reader tablets in prisons and book censorship behind bars. Panelists included Lawrence Bartley of “News Inside,” Jodi Lincoln of the Pittsburgh Prison Book Project, and Cynthia Simons of the Texas Center for Justice and Equity. Watch the full discussion here.

Join PEN America on March 16, 2022, as panelists discuss e-reader tablets and access to literature in carceral institutions.

A lost miniature book of poems by Charlotte Bronte sells for over $1 million, plus more book news and authors on the air...
04/01/2022
A Lost Book of Poems by Charlotte Brontë | Book Pulse

A lost miniature book of poems by Charlotte Bronte sells for over $1 million, plus more book news and authors on the air in today's edition of #LJBookPulse

A Book of Rhymes, a lost collection of poems by Charlotte Brontë,has been uncovered and will sell for $1.25 million. Biographer Nancy Milford has died at the age of 83.Interviews investigate the insights of Marie Yovanovitch, Mindy Kaling, Jennifer Egan, Maud Newton, Talitha Getty, and Susan Cain. ...

White Evangelical Racism,  Religion and the Rise of Capitalism, and more academic bestsellers in the religion category
04/01/2022
Academic best sellers in religion, March 2022

White Evangelical Racism, Religion and the Rise of Capitalism, and more academic bestsellers in the religion category

Best selling religion titles from authors including Anthea D. Butler, Lauren Groff, Benjamin M. Friedman, Sara Kamali, Felipe Hinojosa, and more.

Equitable digital access--to library #ebooks and #broadband alike--were important topics at the @Public Library Associat...
03/31/2022
E-Access, Innovation, and Adoption | PLA 2022

Equitable digital access--to library #ebooks and #broadband alike--were important topics at the @Public Library Association conference in Portland, OR.

E-access was a hot topic at the Public Library Association (PLA) 2022 conference, held in Portland, OR, from March 23–25. Programs examining points along the pipeline from licensing to broadband to innovative infrastructure were well attended.

Alumni from School of Information - The University of Texas at Austin  have launched a scholarship for BIPOC students. I...
03/31/2022
BIPOC Alumni Scholarship Fund Established at UT Austin iSchool

Alumni from School of Information - The University of Texas at Austin have launched a scholarship for BIPOC students. If they reach their fundraising goal, the scholarship will be awarded to at least two students annually beginning in fall 2023.

In response to a call for increased diversity at the University of Texas (UT) Austin iSchool—and to boost representation and participation among students of color in information sciences fields overall—a group of UT alumni have created an endowed scholarship for BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and peo...

If you like pop-up books, UNC School of Information and Library Science  UNC-Chapel Hill Library have the special collec...
03/31/2022
Special Collection Pops Up Off the Page at the University of North Carolina | Archives Deep Dive

If you like pop-up books, UNC School of Information and Library Science UNC-Chapel Hill Library have the special collection for you, in LJ's first Archives Deep Dive, profiling unusual holdings

When people think of special collections, few think of a bouquet of flowers that never wilt, working pinhole cameras, or even a Tyrannosaurus Rex trying to pull itself off the page. But that’s exactly what the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill has in the ever-growing collection of pop-up...

Plutarch Award finalists, plus a plethora of other prizes in today's #LJBookPulse
03/31/2022
Plutarch Award, Dylan Thomas Prize, and Stella Prize News | Book Pulse

Plutarch Award finalists, plus a plethora of other prizes in today's #LJBookPulse

The 2022 Plutarch Award finalists are announced. TheSwansea University Dylan Thomas Prize and the Stella Prize shortlist authors are also announced. At the top of the best sellers lists are: The Recovery Agent by Janet Evanovich, French Braid by Anne Tyler, A Safe Houseby Stuart Woods, Against All O...

Plant Bulbs: An Easy Way to #Garden from LJ's Your Home Librarian
03/30/2022
Plant Bulbs | An Easy Way To Garden

Plant Bulbs: An Easy Way to #Garden from LJ's Your Home Librarian

Interested in planting, cultivating, and delighting in spring flower bulbs? It is a lovely and easy entry into gardening. Bulbs can be planted in pots, in raised beds, or directly in the ground.

26 titles for #library collections on #votingrights in the United States
03/30/2022
The Right To Vote | 26 Titles To Build a Collection

26 titles for #library collections on #votingrights in the United States

These titles focus on voting rights and elections in the United States. They introduce readers to voting and basic civics, and cover major historical events and issues in the struggle for voting rights.

Awards, authors on the air, and more from today's edition of #LJBookPulse
03/30/2022
Windham-Campbell Prizes For Writers Announced | Book Pulse

Awards, authors on the air, and more from today's edition of #LJBookPulse

The 2022 Windham-Campbell Prizes are announced. Oprah Winfrey to receive honorary PEN/Faulkner award. Philip Pullman steps down as Society of Authors (SoA) president. LibraryReads and LJ offer read-alikes for What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline. Interviews arrive with Ocean Vuong, Nick....

Inside the Radical Hood Library, headquarters of the Noname Book Club, via Teen Vogue
03/30/2022
Inside the Headquarters of Noname Book Club

Inside the Radical Hood Library, headquarters of the Noname Book Club, via Teen Vogue

The Radical Hood Library wants to promote “liberatory and revolutionary ideas.”

The sea has fascinated authors throughout time. Popular fiction genres from domestic fiction to wartime novels involve a...
03/29/2022
Sea Stories | The Reader's Shelf

The sea has fascinated authors throughout time. Popular fiction genres from domestic fiction to wartime novels involve a profusion of pelagic topics and themes.

Among the EDI offerings at the 2022 PLA conference, "Queering the Library: Strategically Creating Space for the LGBTQ+ C...
03/29/2022
Queering the Library | PLA 2022

Among the EDI offerings at the 2022 PLA conference, "Queering the Library: Strategically Creating Space for the LGBTQ+ Community" was unusual in that, rather than being led by top leadership, the change was led by branch-level staffers. #PLA2022

A variety of public libraries shared their hands on practices for improving and deepening their equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) work at the Public Library Association conference, held in Portland, OR, March 23-25. Among them, the Queering the Library: Strategically Creating Space for the LGBT...

Canada Reads returns for its 21st season, Elaine Midcoh wins the 2022 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award, the 2022 IAFA...
03/29/2022
Canada Reads Returns | Book Pulse

Canada Reads returns for its 21st season, Elaine Midcoh wins the 2022 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award, the 2022 IAFA Awards winners are announced, and more in today's Book Pulse.

Canada Reads returns for its 21st season. Elaine Midcoh wins the 2022 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award. The 2022 IAFA Awards winners are announced. The Candy House by Jennifer Egan gets reviewed. Roxane Gay Books announces first three titles, due out in 2023. Interviews arrive with Kate Folk, Joh...

Many of the programs at the PLA 2022 conference looked at equity work being done throughout the library, including top-d...
03/29/2022
Equity at All Levels | PLA 2022

Many of the programs at the PLA 2022 conference looked at equity work being done throughout the library, including top-down integration into the library’s strategic plan, the creation of dedicated departments and teams, and thoughtful, community-inclusive programming. #PLA2022

At the 2022 Public Library Association (PLA) Conference, held from March 23–25 at the Oregon Convention Center in Portland, many of the programs looked at equity work being done throughout the library, including top-down integration into the library’s strategic plan, the creation of dedicated de...

What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline tops library holds list this week, and more from today's edition of #LJ...
03/28/2022
'What Happened To The Bennetts' by Lisa Scottoline Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline tops library holds list this week, and more from today's edition of #LJBookPulse

What Happened to the Bennetts by Lisa Scottoline tops holds lists. Several adaptations win Oscars. The 2022 British Book Awards, The Republic of Consciousness Award, and Best First Novel Award shortlists are announced. Three LibraryReads selections publish this week. People's book of the week is Tel...

Submissions are open for the 2022 Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize; the winning U.S. public library will receive $250,...
03/25/2022
Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize Guidelines

Submissions are open for the 2022 Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize; the winning U.S. public library will receive $250,000 in unfettered grant monies from the Gerald M. Kline Family Foundation. Read the new guidelines and submit nominations before July 8.

The Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize, developed in partnership between the Gerald M. Kline Family Foundation and Library Journal, was created in 2019 to recognize the public library as a vital community asset. When libraries, civic entities, organizations, and the people they serve become close ...

A Netflix adaptation of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO; CrimeFest Awards shortlist announced; a...
03/25/2022
2022 CrimeFest and IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards Announcements | Book Pulse

A Netflix adaptation of Taylor Jenkins Reid’s THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO; CrimeFest Awards shortlist announced; and more news in today’s Book Pulse.

Shortlists and finalists are announced for the 2022 CrimeFest Awards and the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award, respectively. Interviews abound with Eloghosa Osunde, George Saunders, Anne Tyler, Lucy Foley, Carell Augustus, Viet Thanh Nguyen, and Susan Cain. There is buzz around the adaptation of Taylor....

Academic best-sellers in philosophy (March 2021 to now) include Ritchie Robertson’s ENLIGHTENMENT and Kevin Everod Quash...
03/24/2022
Academic best sellers in philosophy, March 2022

Academic best-sellers in philosophy (March 2021 to now) include Ritchie Robertson’s ENLIGHTENMENT and Kevin Everod Quashie’s BLACK ALIVENESS, as identified by GOBI Library Solutions from EBSCO.

Best selling philosophy titles from authors including Ritchie Robinson, Keven Everod Quashie, Jordan B. Peterson, Richard Rorty, Steven M. Nadler, and more.

How do today's students use and value their university or college library? LJ surveyed over 400 US college students to f...
03/24/2022
College Student Library Usage Survey Report

How do today's students use and value their university or college library? LJ surveyed over 400 US college students to find out. #Sponsored #ProQuest

LJ surveyed over 400 U.S. college students to measure how they use and value their university/college library. The results, from the perspective of community college and 4-year university/college students, are broken down by type of institution, online or in-person learning environments, and broad f...

LitHub and NYT discuss the books that came up during Ketanji Brown Jackson’s Supreme Court nomination hearing; a book ba...
03/24/2022
Books Take the Stage in Supreme Court Nomination Hearing | Book Pulse

LitHub and NYT discuss the books that came up during Ketanji Brown Jackson’s Supreme Court nomination hearing; a book banning bill in Oklahoma; and more news in today’s Book Pulse.

News about books discussed during Ketanji Brown Jackson’s Supreme Court nomination hearing and a book banning bill in Oklahoma. The best sellers lists feature The War of Two Queens by Jennifer L. Armentrout, The Match by Harlan Coben, and Lessons From The Edge: A Memoir by Marie Yovanovitch. New b...

If your library has a weeks-long holds list for Janet Evanovich’s latest Stephanie Plum mystery, THE RECOVERY AGENT, off...
03/23/2022
Read-Alikes for 'The Recovery Agent' by Janet Evanovich | LibraryReads

If your library has a weeks-long holds list for Janet Evanovich’s latest Stephanie Plum mystery, THE RECOVERY AGENT, offer patrons these read-alikes by Elle Cosimano, Wanda M. Morris, and Mia P. Manansala—compiled by LJ and LibraryReads.

LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for patrons waiting to read The Recovery Agent by Janet Evanovich.

For librarians seeking good books at the Public Library Association convention today, LJ’s Barbara Hoffert has compiled ...
03/23/2022
PLA Galley & Signing Guide 2022

For librarians seeking good books at the Public Library Association convention today, LJ’s Barbara Hoffert has compiled a list of select titles from key publishers attending PLA.

Get your guide now.

Colm Tóibín wins the Rathbones Folio Prize for THE MAGICIAN; Roxanna Asgarian, May Jeong, Andrea Elliott, and Jane Rogoy...
03/23/2022
Colm Tóibín Wins Rathbones Folio Prize For 'The Magicians' | Book Pulse

Colm Tóibín wins the Rathbones Folio Prize for THE MAGICIAN; Roxanna Asgarian, May Jeong, Andrea Elliott, and Jane Rogoyska win Lukas Prize Project Awards; and more news in today’s LJ Book Pulse.

Colm Tóibín wins the £30,000 Rathbones Folio Prize for The Magician. Roxanna Asgarian, May Jeong, Andrea Elliott, and Jane Rogoyska win Lukas Prize Project Awards. The 2022 Dublin Literary Award shortlist is announced. The Dutch publisher recalls The Betrayal of Anne Frank: A Cold Case Investigat...

Georgia’s Clayton County Library System has launched a new job training program for patrons, using VR headsets to simula...
03/22/2022
VR Job Training Launched at Clayton County Library System

Georgia’s Clayton County Library System has launched a new job training program for patrons, using VR headsets to simulate hands-on experience in trades like plumbing, HVAC, and solar panel installation, LJ reports.

Georgia’s Clayton County Library System has launched a new job training program that enables patrons to use virtual reality (VR) headsets to simulate hands-on experiences in various trades including plumbing, commercial and residential HVAC, and even solar panel installation.

Publishing Triangle Awards finalists and International Prize for Arabic Fiction shortlist are announced; the Guardian as...
03/22/2022
The 2022 Publishing Triangle Awards Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

Publishing Triangle Awards finalists and International Prize for Arabic Fiction shortlist are announced; the Guardian asks “What’s behind the rise in censorship?”; and more news in today’s Book Pulse.

The 2022 Publishing Triangle Awards finalists are announced. The 2022 International Prize for Arabic Fiction shortlist is out. The Guardian asks

Reader Engagement takes Readers Advisory to the next level, focusing on building ongoing relationships and the benefits ...
03/21/2022
Engaging Readers

Reader Engagement takes Readers Advisory to the next level, focusing on building ongoing relationships and the benefits of the reading experience. Features examples from Topeka & Shawnee County Public Library

Readers’ Advisory + Reader Engagement = Reader Services for Our Times

Address

123 William Street
New York, NY
10038

Telephone

(888) 282-5852

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Library Journal posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Library Journal:

Videos

Nearby media companies


Comments

Librarians shared how they turned the data from their collection diversity audits into action at the Public Library Association conference in Portland, OR
PEN America convened a virtual discussion about the use of e-reader tablets in prisons and book censorship behind bars. Panelists included Lawrence Bartley of “News Inside,” Jodi Lincoln of the Pittsburgh Prison Book Project, and Cynthia Simons of the Texas Center for Justice and Equity. Watch the full discussion here.
Titles covering the Proud Boys, privacy, ransomware, and more nonfiction coming out in October 2022 from LJ's #PrepubAlert
A lost miniature book of poems by Charlotte Bronte sells for over $1 million, plus more book news and authors on the air in today's edition of #LJBookPulse
Forthcoming mysteries set for October 2022, from Marcie Rendon's Sinister Grave to David Rosenfelt's Santa' s Little Yelpers, from LJ's #PrepubAlert
White Evangelical Racism, Religion and the Rise of Capitalism, and more academic bestsellers in the religion category
500-book Freedom Libraries created by poet and MacArthur fellow Reginald Dwayne Betts to be placed in 1,000 prisons
Equitable digital access--to library #ebooks and #broadband alike--were important topics at the @Public Library Association conference in Portland, OR.
Alumni from School of Information - The University of Texas at Austin have launched a scholarship for BIPOC students. If they reach their fundraising goal, the scholarship will be awarded to at least two students annually beginning in fall 2023.
If you like pop-up books, UNC School of Information and Library Science UNC-Chapel Hill Library have the special collection for you, in LJ's first Archives Deep Dive, profiling unusual holdings
Plutarch Award finalists, plus a plethora of other prizes in today's #LJBookPulse
Colombian public library focuses on gathering and sharing Kankuamo Indigenous knowledge through audiovisual narratives.