Clicky

Library Journal

Library Journal Library Journal is the most trusted and respected publication for the library community. Born 140 years ago from the mind of Melvil Dewey, Library Journal remains the oldest publication in the library field.

LJ is read today by more than 100,000 library directors, administrators, librarians and staffers, hipsters and traditionalists alike. Between the print magazine and libraryjournal.com, LJ's comprehensive coverage includes analytical news and features ranging from gadget-geek technology to the nitty-gritty of boardroom policy. LJ's Book Review weighs in on nearly 7000 books annually, from the seemi

LJ is read today by more than 100,000 library directors, administrators, librarians and staffers, hipsters and traditionalists alike. Between the print magazine and libraryjournal.com, LJ's comprehensive coverage includes analytical news and features ranging from gadget-geek technology to the nitty-gritty of boardroom policy. LJ's Book Review weighs in on nearly 7000 books annually, from the seemi

Operating as usual

Public librarians have found ways to join community services and parks and recreation departments to create blended faci...
11/23/2022
From Co-location to Blended Facilities

Public librarians have found ways to join community services and parks and recreation departments to create blended facilities. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/From-Co-location-to-Blended-Facilities

The idea of libraries built in parks or community centers is not new. What is less common, however, is the idea of not just collocating but blending facilities together to create more opportunities for collaboration across governmental units. That idea is being put into place in New Jersey, Virginia...

U.S. District Court Judge Florence Y. Pan’s decision blocking the $2.2 billion merger between Penguin Random House and S...
11/23/2022
After Court Decision, What’s Next for S&S Acquisition?

U.S. District Court Judge Florence Y. Pan’s decision blocking the $2.2 billion merger between Penguin Random House and Simon & Schuster has apparently quashed the deal. PRH said it was dropping the appeal.

U.S. District Court Judge Florence Y. Pan’s decision blocking the $2.2 billion merger between Penguin Random House and Simon & Schuster has apparently quashed the deal. Initially, PRH and its owner, Bertelsmann, said it planned to appeal. However, on November 21, Reuters reported that Paramount wo...

Mysteries are killing it! Nostalgia for cozies boosts the mystery market: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/mysteries...
11/22/2022
Mysteries Are Killing It! Nostalgia for Cozies Boosts Mystery Market

Mysteries are killing it! Nostalgia for cozies boosts the mystery market: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/mysteries-are-killing-it-nostalgia-for-cozies-boosts-mystery-market-lj221115

As 21st-century global turmoil persists, readers are finding a safe harbor in mysteries. “People love consistency, familiarity, charm, and humor. That’s the type of stuff that warms readers’ hearts and makes them want to come back time and time again,” says Crooked Lane Books Publisher Matt ...

Mysteries are killing it! Nostalgia for cozies boosts the mystery market:
11/22/2022
Mysteries Are Killing It! Nostalgia for Cozies Boosts Mystery Market

Mysteries are killing it! Nostalgia for cozies boosts the mystery market:

As 21st-century global turmoil persists, readers are finding a safe harbor in mysteries. “People love consistency, familiarity, charm, and humor. That’s the type of stuff that warms readers’ hearts and makes them want to come back time and time again,” says Crooked Lane Books Publisher Matt ...

Are your library’s valuable primary source materials reaching the scholars who need them? Learn about how Queens College...
11/21/2022

Are your library’s valuable primary source materials reaching the scholars who need them? Learn about how Queens College increased the reach of their special collections through JSTOR Open Community Collections, and how you, too, can share your collections with the world #sponsored https://about.jstor.org/success-stories/queens-college/

Job Zone utilizes unique job matching technology to help you find the perfect job (and employers find the perfect candid...
11/21/2022
Library Journal Job Zone

Job Zone utilizes unique job matching technology to help you find the perfect job (and employers find the perfect candidate), whether you’re actively seeking or just keeping an eye out for your possibilities. https://bit.ly/3XhiOg5

Search jobs in New York, NY and find local employment opportunities with Library Journal Job Zone. Your best source for New York, NY local employers.

Time for your to-read lists! May Prepub Alerts feature SF, fantasy, horror, STEM, social sciences, and more: https://bit...
11/20/2022

Time for your to-read lists! May Prepub Alerts feature SF, fantasy, horror, STEM, social sciences, and more: https://bit.ly/3URiBPb

Announcing the 2023 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction shortlist! Plus, news on banned book...
11/18/2022
Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Announced | Book Pulse

Announcing the 2023 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction shortlist! Plus, news on banned books, the HarperCollins Union strike, and indictments related to the Z-Library ebook archives: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2023-andrew-carnegie-medals-shortlist-announced-bookpulse

The 2023 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction shortlist is announced. Katherine Rundell has won the 2022 Baillie Gifford Prize for Nonfiction for Super-Infinite: The Transformations of John Donne. The Porchlight Business Book Awards longlist is announced. News reports cove...

Congratulations to the 2022 National Book Award winners! Plus, check out the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize shortl...
11/17/2022
The 2022 National Book Award Winners Are Announced | Book Pulse

Congratulations to the 2022 National Book Award winners! Plus, check out the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize shortlist: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2022-national-book-award-winners-announced-Tess-Gunty-Imani-Perry-John-Keene-Samanta-Schweblin-Megan-McDowell-bookpulse

The 2022 National Book Award winners are announced. The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize shortlist is released. Desert Star by Michael Connelly, Stellarlune by Shannon Messenger, and Charm by Tracy Wolff top the bestseller lists. Author interviews are out with Alison Mariella Désir, Lauren Grah...

Still on hold for Michelle Obama’s THE LIGHT WE CARRY? Check out these read-alikes for this buzziest book! https://www.l...
11/17/2022
Read-Alikes for ‘The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times’ by Michelle Obama

Still on hold for Michelle Obama’s THE LIGHT WE CARRY? Check out these read-alikes for this buzziest book! https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/Read-Alikes-The-Light-We-Carry-by-Michelle-Obama-LibraryReads

The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times, by Michelle Obama (Crown), is the top holds title of the week. LibraryReads and Library Journal offer read-alikes for patrons waiting to read this buzziest book.

Lots of fun award announcements today—Grammy Awards, plus shortlists for the Andrew Carnegie Medal, Scotland's National ...
11/16/2022
Shelia Heti Wins Governor General’s Fiction Award For 'Pure Colour' | Book Pulse

Lots of fun award announcements today—Grammy Awards, plus shortlists for the Andrew Carnegie Medal, Scotland's National Book Awards, the Tasmanian Literary Awards in today’s #LJBookPulse: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/sheila-heti-wins-governor-general-fiction-award-book-pulse

Canada's Governor General’s Literary Awards are announced. Winners of the Polari book prizes are announced, including Joelle Taylor for her collection, C+nto & Othered Poems. Nominations and shortlists for the Andrew Carnegie Medal, Scotland's National Book Awards, the Tasmanian Literary Awards, a...

Time releases “The 100 Must-Read Books of 2022.” Plus, Vox reads and reviews all of the 2022 National Book Award finalis...
11/15/2022
Time Releases 'The 100 Must-Read Books of 2022' | Book Pulse

Time releases “The 100 Must-Read Books of 2022.” Plus, Vox reads and reviews all of the 2022 National Book Award finalists: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/time-releases-100-best-books-of-2022-book-pulse

Time releases “The 100 Must-Read Books of 2022.” The Center for Fiction’s Annual Awards Benefit will take place December 6. The Rhysling Award Long Poem winners are announced. The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times by Michelle Obama and So Help Me God by Mike Pence get reviews and a...

Hiveclass offers teens and youth access to its mobile-friendly database of professionally shot, athlete-led instructiona...
11/15/2022
Hiveclass Rolls Out Youth Sports Training Digital Platform for Libraries

Hiveclass offers teens and youth access to its mobile-friendly database of professionally shot, athlete-led instructional videos on soccer, basketball, tennis, dance, self-defense, volleyball, and more. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/hiveclass-rolls-out-youth-sports-training-digital-platform-for-libraries

Hiveclass, a startup company building a “digital encyclopedia of youth sports training,” has been partnering with libraries throughout the United States to offer teens and youth access to its mobile-friendly database of professionally shot, athlete-led instructional videos on soccer, basketball,...

Michelle Obama’s THE LIGHT WE CARRY leads library holds this week. Plus, news on Michael Lewis’s new book about the form...
11/14/2022
‘The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times’ by Michelle Obama Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Michelle Obama’s THE LIGHT WE CARRY leads library holds this week. Plus, news on Michael Lewis’s new book about the former head of cryptocurrency exchange FTX, Sam Bankman-Fried. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/the-light-we-carry-michelle-obama-tops-holds-book-pulse

The Light We Carry: Overcoming in Uncertain Times by Michelle Obama leads library holds this week. One LibraryReads and 10 Indie Next picks publish this week. People’s book of the week is Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six by Lisa Unger. Andrew Morton’s biography, The Queen: Her Life, is reviewed. Univer...

What could be better than a Great Rare Books Bake Off? https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/australia-and-pennsylvania-c...
11/13/2022
Australia and Pennsylvania Compete in Great Rare Books Bake Off, Highlighting Special Collections

What could be better than a Great Rare Books Bake Off? https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/australia-and-pennsylvania-compete-in-great-rare-books-bake-off-highlighting-special-collections

In 2020, partner schools Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, and Penn State University in the United States decided that a friendly baking competition involving the two universities would hit all the outreach notes they wanted, spotlighting cookbooks from both schools’ collections and foste...

These inspirational cookbooks, written by chef-authors, will motivate readers to recreate wonderful meals in their home ...
11/12/2022
Cookbooks as Tour Guides | Destination Reading and Eating

These inspirational cookbooks, written by chef-authors, will motivate readers to recreate wonderful meals in their home kitchens. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/Cookbooks-as-Tour-Guides-Destination-Reading-and-Eating

The restaurant cookbook is a classic subgenre. This menu of titles is designed to highlight recent restaurant cookbooks that include a true sense of place and impressive recipes. The books evoke memories of restaurant visits past with their beautiful photography, and also share their locale, as they...

Announcing the World Fantasy Award winners and the Golden Poppy finalists! https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2022-wor...
11/11/2022
World Fantasy Awards Winners and Golden Poppy Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

Announcing the World Fantasy Award winners and the Golden Poppy finalists! https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2022-world-fantasy-awards-winners-golden-poppy-finalists-announced-bookpulse

The World Fantasy Awards winners and Golden Poppy finalists are out. The court decision regarding the proposed merger of Penguin Random House and Simon & Schuster is released. Flying to the top of the best-sellers lists are Going Rogue by Janet Evanovich, Triple Cross by James Patterson, Friends, Lo...

From the earliest days of the novel, works of fiction have attempted to pass themselves off as nonfiction. These fiction...
11/10/2022
Mock True Crime | The Reader’s Shelf

From the earliest days of the novel, works of fiction have attempted to pass themselves off as nonfiction. These fictional works all imitate that most popular form of nonfiction, true crime. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/Mock-True-Crime-The-Readers-Shelf

From the earliest days of the novel, works of fiction have attempted to pass themselves off as nonfiction. These fictional works all imitate that most popular form of nonfiction, true crime.

UX Design helps library patrons and staff gain a comprehensive perspective on any topic by starting with graduate schola...
11/10/2022

UX Design helps library patrons and staff gain a comprehensive perspective on any topic by starting with graduate scholarship and connecting to published works. Citation technology focuses the research on the most relevant works.#sponsored #exlibris #lj http://ow.ly/EngQ50LwJnH

Jane Smiley’s A DANGEROUS BUSINESS tops the December Loan Stars list, plus a U.S. judge explains why she blocked the PRH...
11/09/2022
‘A Dangerous Business’ by Jane Smiley Tops December’s Loan Stars List | Book Pulse

Jane Smiley’s A DANGEROUS BUSINESS tops the December Loan Stars list, plus a U.S. judge explains why she blocked the PRH/S. & S. merger: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/jane-smiley-a-dangerous-business-tops-december-loan-stars-list-book-pulse

The December Loan Stars list is out, with A Dangerous Business by Jane Smiley in the #1 spot. Christian Léourier wins the Prix Joël-Champetier Award. A U.S. judge explains why she blocked the PRH/S. & S. merger. LibraryReads and LJ offer read-alikes for Desert Star by Michael Connelly. Interviews ...

Suzette Mayr wins the Scotiabank Giller Prize for THE SLEEPING CAR PORTER. Plus, news on the planned Harper Collins unio...
11/08/2022
Suzette Mayr Wins $100K Scotiabank Giller Prize for ‘The Sleeping Car Porter’ | Book Pulse

Suzette Mayr wins the Scotiabank Giller Prize for THE SLEEPING CAR PORTER. Plus, news on the planned Harper Collins union and management strike in today’s #LJBookPulse: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/suzette-mayr-wins-scotiabank-giller-prize-the-sleeping-car-porter-book-pulse

Suzette Mayr wins the $100K Scotiabank Giller Prize for The Sleeping Car Porter. The World Fantasy Award winners are announced. Harper Collins union and management plan to strike on Thursday. USA Today gives Now Is Not the Time To Panic by Kevin Wilson a 4-star review. The Stories We Tell: Every Pie...

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a searchable collection of more than five million dissertations and theses fro...
11/08/2022

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a searchable collection of more than five million dissertations and theses from universities worldwide. A new breakthrough feature uses citation analytics to connect research studies. #sponsored #proquest #lj http://ow.ly/B5f050LwFyY

Time for your to-read lists! May Prepub Alerts feature historical fiction, short stories, literary debuts, history, and ...
11/08/2022

Time for your to-read lists! May Prepub Alerts feature historical fiction, short stories, literary debuts, history, and more: https://bit.ly/3URROSv

Award announcements, author interviews, and new adaptations for film and television! https://www.libraryjournal.com/stor...
11/07/2022
Southern Book Prize Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

Award announcements, author interviews, and new adaptations for film and television! https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2023-southern-book-prize-finalists-announced-bookpulse

There are awards announcements for ​​​​the Southern Book Prize finalists, Writers’ Trust of Canada Awards winners, and the winner of Prix Goncourt. Many interviews plumb the thoughts of authors such as Percival Everett, Zosia Mamet, Shaun Ta, Ralph Macchio, Veronica Roth, Nick Drnaso, Tom ...

Michael Connelly’s DESERT STAR leads this week’s holds. Plus, the Oddest Book Title of the Year! https://www.libraryjour...
11/07/2022
‘Desert Star’ by Michael Connelly Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Michael Connelly’s DESERT STAR leads this week’s holds. Plus, the Oddest Book Title of the Year! https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/desert-star-michael-connelly-tops-holds-book-pulse

Desert Star by Michael Connelly leads holds this week. Shortlists for the Voss Literary Prize, Prime Minister’s Literary Awards, and the Oddest Book Title of the Year for the Diagram Prize are announced. Four LibraryReads and seven Indie Next picks publish this week. People’s book of the week is...

Address

123 William Street
New York, NY
10038

Telephone

(888) 282-5852

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Library Journal posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Library Journal:

Videos

Nearby media companies


Other Magazines in New York

Show All

Comments

Public librarians have found ways to join community services and parks and recreation departments to create blended facilities. https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/From-Co-location-to-Blended-Facilities
U.S. District Court Judge Florence Y. Pan’s decision blocking the $2.2 billion merger between Penguin Random House and Simon & Schuster has apparently quashed the deal. PRH said it was dropping the appeal.
Mysteries are killing it! Nostalgia for cozies boosts the mystery market: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/mysteries-are-killing-it-nostalgia-for-cozies-boosts-mystery-market-lj221115
Mysteries are killing it! Nostalgia for cozies boosts the mystery market:
Are your library’s valuable primary source materials reaching the scholars who need them? Learn about how Queens College increased the reach of their special collections through JSTOR Open Community Collections, and how you, too, can share your collections with the world #sponsored https://about.jstor.org/success-stories/queens-college/
Job Zone utilizes unique job matching technology to help you find the perfect job (and employers find the perfect candidate), whether you’re actively seeking or just keeping an eye out for your possibilities. https://bit.ly/3XhiOg5
So many great reads! Check out the latest LJ Starred Reviews: https://bit.ly/3EJObZu
Time for your to-read lists! May Prepub Alerts feature SF, fantasy, horror, STEM, social sciences, and more: https://bit.ly/3URiBPb
LJ is seeking nominations for our 21st annual round of Movers & Shakers. Tell us about your favorite innovative, creative, inspirational library leader or behind-the-scenes contributor. Deadline is Nov 14—don’t wait! https://mediasource.formstack.com/forms/movers_shakers_2023
Announcing the 2023 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction shortlist! Plus, news on banned books, the HarperCollins Union strike, and indictments related to the Z-Library ebook archives: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2023-andrew-carnegie-medals-shortlist-announced-bookpulse
LJ is seeking nominations for our 21st annual round of Movers & Shakers. Tell us about your favorite innovative, creative, inspirational library leader or behind-the-scenes contributor. Deadline is Nov 14—don’t wait! https://mediasource.formstack.com/forms/movers_shakers_2023
LJ is seeking nominations for our 21st annual round of Movers & Shakers. Tell us about your favorite innovative, creative, inspirational library leader or behind-the-scenes contributor. Deadline is Nov 14—don’t wait! https://mediasource.formstack.com/forms/movers_shakers_2023
Congratulations to the 2022 National Book Award winners! Plus, check out the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize shortlist: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/2022-national-book-award-winners-announced-Tess-Gunty-Imani-Perry-John-Keene-Samanta-Schweblin-Megan-McDowell-bookpulse
Still on hold for Michelle Obama’s THE LIGHT WE CARRY? Check out these read-alikes for this buzziest book! https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/Read-Alikes-The-Light-We-Carry-by-Michelle-Obama-LibraryReads
Lots of fun award announcements today—Grammy Awards, plus shortlists for the Andrew Carnegie Medal, Scotland's National Book Awards, the Tasmanian Literary Awards in today’s #LJBookPulse: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/sheila-heti-wins-governor-general-fiction-award-book-pulse
Time releases “The 100 Must-Read Books of 2022.” Plus, Vox reads and reviews all of the 2022 National Book Award finalists: https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/time-releases-100-best-books-of-2022-book-pulse
x

Other Magazines in New York (show all)

TimSchaeferMedia.com The Downtown Mag Weekly Humorist Middle East Images African American Golfer's Digest New York Worldwide Hair Magazine - A Registered Trademark O&M Partners, LLC Financial News Now Cyclolore Magazine What's up in New York Millennium Magazine dearJulius.com PRnob SlidesLive