Clicky

America Magazine - The Jesuit Review

America Magazine - The Jesuit Review The Jesuit Review of Faith and Culture

Operating as usual

What Judgment Day can teach us about hope Today's reflection from Colleen Dulle:
11/25/2022
What Judgment Day can teach us about hope

What Judgment Day can teach us about hope

Today's reflection from Colleen Dulle:

A Reflection for Friday of the Thirty-fourth Week in Ordinary Time, by Colleen Dulle

The supply chain crisis could save Christmas (2021)
11/25/2022
The supply chain crisis could save Christmas

The supply chain crisis could save Christmas (2021)

The supply chain crisis may mean emptier shelves and later deliveries this Christmas season. So why not use the opportunity to buy fewer and simpler gifts?

A Thanksgiving Prayer for Nearly Everyone
11/24/2022
A Thanksgiving Prayer for Nearly Everyone

A Thanksgiving Prayer for Nearly Everyone

‘Now, I know I’m not the most grateful person you know, God, so let me take some time to tell you what I’m thankful for.’

In this second episode of “Think Like a Jesuit,” Paddy and Eric talk about why the “Communion Wars” are such a political...
11/24/2022

In this second episode of “Think Like a Jesuit,” Paddy and Eric talk about why the “Communion Wars” are such a politically charged topic, discuss the political situation of U.S. Catholics and offer tools from Ignatian spirituality to think through both sides of the debate.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXH-g4ddz_c

The election Archbishop Timothy Broglio to lead the conference suggested to Bishop Stowe that “we’re definitely not goin...
11/23/2022
Interview: Bishop Stowe wants the USCCB to take Pope Francis’ priorities seriously

The election Archbishop Timothy Broglio to lead the conference suggested to Bishop Stowe that “we’re definitely not going to be going in the direction of Pope Francis any more than we have, and that’s unfortunate.”

The election Archbishop Timothy Broglio to lead the conference suggested to Bishop Stowe that “we’re definitely not going to be going in the direction of Pope Francis any more than we have, and…

On the newest episode of The Gloria Purvis Podcast: The importance of personal parishes for Black Catholics
11/22/2022
Podcast: The importance of personal parishes for Black Catholics

On the newest episode of The Gloria Purvis Podcast: The importance of personal parishes for Black Catholics

This week on “The Gloria Purvis Podcast,” Gloria speaks with the Rev. Thomas Burke about the importance of establishing personal parishes for Black Catholics.

With several of his cousins and their children and grandchildren present, Pope Francis celebrated Mass in the Asti cathe...
11/21/2022
Pope Francis celebrates the feast of Christ the King with his cousins

With several of his cousins and their children and grandchildren present, Pope Francis celebrated Mass in the Asti cathedral, giving a nod to his family roots and drawing people’s attention to the root of Christian faith: the cross of Jesus.

With several of his cousins and their children and grandchildren present, Pope Francis celebrated Mass in the Asti cathedral, giving a nod to his family roots and drawing people’s attention to the…

The power of reflection and gratitude
11/20/2022
The power of reflection and gratitude

The power of reflection and gratitude

Nov. 20, 2022, The Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe in Ordinary Time: We have an opportunity for thoughtful reflection on the past and planning for what is on the horizon.

Stop saying the Latin Mass is ‘more reverent’
11/20/2022
Stop saying the Latin Mass is ‘more reverent’

Stop saying the Latin Mass is ‘more reverent’

The way we talk about the liturgy matters, and to describe something as “irreverent” assumes a level of malicious intent on the part of worshipers that other terms do not.

Welcome to the Catholic Book Club!  And join us as we begin to read our new selection, "The Betrothed," by Alessandro Ma...
11/19/2022
Catholic Book Club

Welcome to the Catholic Book Club! And join us as we begin to read our new selection, "The Betrothed," by Alessandro Manzoni (author) and Michael F. Moore (translator).

Join America's Catholic Book Club as we discuss our new selection, "The Betrothed" by Alessandro Manzoni (author) and Michael F. Moore (translator).

The German bishops’ meeting with officials of the Roman Curia was not a “showdown,” but it did make clear the Vatican’s ...
11/19/2022
Concerns about Germany’s support for changing church teaching on homosexuality and women dominate Vatican meetings

The German bishops’ meeting with officials of the Roman Curia was not a “showdown,” but it did make clear the Vatican’s strong concerns about Germany’s Synodal Path, especially regarding its support for official ministries for women and for a change in church teaching about homosexuality, said the president of the bishops’ conference.

After meeting with Pope Francis and other Vatican official, the president of the bishops’ conference said claim that German church is moving toward schism are ‘meant to intimidate us.’

Address

1212 Avenue Of The Americas
New York, NY
10036

Telephone

(212) 581-4640

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when America Magazine - The Jesuit Review posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to America Magazine - The Jesuit Review:

Videos

Nearby media companies


Other Media/News Companies in New York

Show All

Comments

These pearlized, silver-colored, Czech glass beads almost remind us of mercury glass. Ideal First Communion, RCIA/Confirmation candidate or sponsor, or a grad, this classic, traditional style rosary makes a great gift.

Whether for yourself or for someone special in your life, this heirloom quality sacramental will surely be cherished for decades to come!
Just days away!

Please join us to honor St. Josephine Bakhita & the International day of prayer and awareness against human trafficking

Millions of victims of trafficking suffer in the world today... our brothers and sisters, our children.

Please join us Feb. 8th to find out how you can help combat human trafficking and what the Catholic Church is doing to fight this fast growing crime.

‪Register here: https://www.humantraffickingacademy.org/event/day-of-prayer/‬
A while we were told that at a Jewish museum they were doing a tribute to Pope John Paul II. It was great. I looked around more and saw a painting. It was of people going into a small building and coming out ready to be killed. It gave me a idea. Make one like it for Right to Life. A pregnant woman going in and coming out not, with a trash can next to her. How you like?
THERE IS ONLY ONE GOD… SO WHY ARE THERE SO MANY RELIGIONS?
Why do you feel your religion is the right one, because your mother says so? There is no harm in exploring, that is the only way to find out if the grass is greener on the other side. Finally, a book has been written that has studied all religions including atheism views and have come up with a perfect layout for you to achieve the Kingdom of Heaven. God did not create any religion, that is why thy body is thy temple. Learn that no matter whatever religion you belong to or no religion at all, what you need to guide you through life to the Pearly Gates. Don’t be afraid, only ye who seek shall find. For those who are still hesitant and afraid, remember if you really believe in God, you can walk through the Valley of Death and fear no evil. You will never know if what you are doing is right unless you read this book. Either you will say I am on the right track to heaven, or you may need to change some and say, I once was blind but now I see. Only after reading it can you decide.
Just days away!

Please join us to honor St. Josephine Bakhita & the international day of prayer and awareness against human trafficking.

Millions of victims of trafficking suffer in the world today... our brothers and sisters, our children

Please join us Feb. 8th to find out how you can help combat human trafficking and what the Catholic Church is doing to fight this fast growing crime. Only together can we fight this heinous crime! Join in and see how you can help!

‪Register here: https://www.humantraffickingacademy.org/event/day-of-prayer/‬
WOW!!! I'M AMAZED, I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF READING AN ARTICLE, AND WAS SHUT OUT, THEN I WAS TOLD TO SIGN IN, I TRIED, AND MY ACCOUNT FROM THE NEWSLETTER WAS NOT ACKNOWLEDGED, THEN I TRIED TO RESET MY PASSWORD, AND IT WOULDN'T ACKNOWLEDGE THE NEW PASSWORD, NOR THE ACCOUNT!!!

I'M SURPRISED THIS ACCOUNT ON FACEBOOK WORKS, APPARENTLY AMERICA MAGAZINE FEELS IT IS TO IMPORTANT TO SERVE ITS DIGITAL CUSTOMERS!!! TRY AGAIN!!! I'LL BE WAITING FOR A RESPONSE ABOUT WHY MY ARTICLE I WAS READING WAS SHUT DOWN IN THE FIRST PLACE, IT WAS ABOUT POPE FRANCIS!!!
This very traditional rosary has the classic design and elegant simplicity of a vintage piece. The matte black beads, the crucifix with great detail and the Miraculous medal centerpiece all contribute to the mid-century vibe.

Whether for yourself or as a gift for someone special in your life, this heirloom quality rosary is bound to be a favorite for decades to come!
On February 8th, St. Bakhita Feast Day, we will bring attention to the millions of victims of human trafficking suffering in our world today ...our brothers and sisters.

Join us on Monday, February 8, 2021, for a series of events honoring the International Day of Prayer and Awareness Against Human Trafficking. We welcome you to take part and find out how we ALL can help combat human trafficking and what the Catholic Church is doing to fight this fast growing crime... occurring in our very own backyards.

Register here:
Is there a large print addition to the America Magazine? and is there a discount if subscribe to Give Us This Day - and America Magazine?
Hello Everyone, we are going through some tough times with this Coronavirus. Some of our loved ones have been the sacrificial lamb. But our faith will not be broken, for we have been through tribulations before, and together we will get through this terrible crisis as well. Amen
BENDING ON MY KNEES
When I am feeling down, and I have not a single friend around.
When I search for a solution but there is not one to be found.
When I find myself alone without anyone to comfort me?
This is the time when I find myself bending on my knees.
When I feel totally hopeless and don’t want to live anymore.
When I look at others who have everything while I remain poor.
When I feel like my final hope is gone.
When I ask myself, to deserve this, what did I do wrong?
Why have I been chosen to endure so much pain?
When I feel like I am going totally insane.
Whenever something goes wrong, I am the scapegoat that they blame.
I feel just so worthless and so totally ashamed.
When I feel that there isn’t a soul in the world who cares for me.
That is when I find myself bending on my knees.
I don’t know where the money will come from to pay the rent.
Yet I know something will get here if only Heaven sent.
Hello Everyone, we are going through some tough times with this Coronavirus. Some of our loved ones have been the sacrificial lamb. But our faith will not be broken, for we have been through tribulations before, and together we will get through this terrible crisis as well. Amen
But you can always find the way if you have the will.
Remember in order for one to get up they must first be down.
If God can keep the world spinning, I know God can turn my life around.
All that God asked of me is to hold on and not to give up.
Like Job weather out those storms that are rough.
Cause we know sooner or later there will be calm seas.
Until then I am going to keep bending on my knees.
(Check out the book below for some good Godly poetry)
Godparents play a vital role in the life of a child beginning on the day of the child's Baptism. Have you considered a gift of appreciation for special people who accept this important responsibility?

A rosary makes a lovely and thoughtful thank you gift to commemorate just such a blessed occasion. We have a wide selection of handmade, heirloom quality, rosaries from which to choose. We are also more than happy to customize a design to be a perfect match for these significant people.

Check out our selections today!
x

Other Media/News Companies in New York (show all)

Page Six Alex Wagner Tonight New York Business Journal NBC New York C News Live Complex News HolafutbolGol Carolyn Reps Wilkins Media MediaVillage More Media, LLC SC Media Marathon Digital The Fashion Dynasty