Clicky

12th Street Journal

12th Street Journal 12th Street is produced annually by students enrolled in the Riggio Honors Program: Writing and Democracy at the New School University in New York City.

“...I feel the need to prove my identity as a Chinese-Japanese American. As if it’s a requirement, part of the ongoing c...
05/30/2022

“...I feel the need to prove my identity as a Chinese-Japanese American. As if it’s a requirement, part of the ongoing check-list of “to-do’s” to get my asian stamp of approval...”

Excerpt from the latest blog piece by Poetry Editor Matthew Young

Link in stories

“The beauty that I saw in my mother—her brown skin, her large hips, her round tummy, her kinky hair—was not considered b...
05/18/2022

“The beauty that I saw in my mother—her brown skin, her large hips, her round tummy, her kinky hair—was not considered beautiful on her to the white homogeneity of the 90s. She had to strip some of that away in order to survive. Not just to be beautiful, but to be employable.”

Excerpt from the latest blog piece by Poetry Editor, Natalia Berry.

Link in stories

“Beauty is a currency. I watched my mother transform each day to go to work, to look “professional,” to become more resp...
05/18/2022

“Beauty is a currency. I watched my mother transform each day to go to work, to look “professional,” to become more respected in the white spaces where she worked. I watched her perform similar rituals to become more desirable for Black spaces. I watched her ritualistically straighten her hair every few weeks. I frequently watched her get her nails done, in long petite acrylics painted with Essie pink color Lady-Like…”

Excerpt from the latest blog piece by Poetry Editor, Natalia Berry.

Link in stories

“I daydream a lot about floating in the air. A slow, sort of dead man’s float across the sky. This doesn’t make much sen...
05/14/2022

“I daydream a lot about floating in the air. A slow, sort of dead man’s float across the sky. This doesn’t make much sense to me because I don’t like planes. Or swimming.”

Excerpt from New Non-Fiction by Linda Kravitz

Six Poems by Christah Porter is now up!!! Link in bio! Poetry at its finest💕
05/09/2022

Six Poems by Christah Porter is now up!!! Link in bio! Poetry at its finest💕

05/06/2022

New Blog #Sh*ttyLuck by @rileymdole is up!!! This is so good!!! #linkinbio

New Poetry Alert🗣” So Long, Farewell My Child” by Eleanor Aristide is now up!!!” #linkinbio
05/02/2022

New Poetry Alert🗣” So Long, Farewell My Child” by Eleanor Aristide is now up!!!” #linkinbio

05/02/2022

New #Poetry alert!!! So Long, Farewell My Dear by Eleanor Aristide is now up!!! #linkinbio

“We emerge from the froth and part our lips, singing in unison. Our song is a euphonious trill forged by seawater and re...
04/25/2022

“We emerge from the froth and part our lips, singing in unison. Our song is a euphonious trill forged by seawater and regality. A sacred language of cadence and rhythm that has weighed on the stretched husks of the Bantay Tubig, guardians of the water, for centuries.”

Excerpt from the latest fiction piece by writer and designer, Jillian Rees.

Link in stories

04/21/2022

Join us…..IN PERSON, tomorrow at 6pm for our Student Reading:) We’ll also be streaming live, scan the QR code to register now!

04/20/2022

Amazing new read by @stevielazarus !!! #DavidInTheDark

“In subway stations, at museums, on trains, in taxicabs, outside restaurants, on street corners, I found myself asking t...
04/16/2022

“In subway stations, at museums, on trains, in taxicabs, outside restaurants, on street corners, I found myself asking the question: What makes a New Yorker?”

Excerpt from the latest blog piece by Art & Multimedia Editor, Jillian Rees

Link in stories

04/13/2022

New #NonFiction piece, Why I Don’t Drink, is now ready for your eyes!!! Thank you Zahra Mansoor for such an incredible piece!!! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾 #LinkInBio

“Instead of giving up on writing, on art forms altogether, I have been trying to find new ways to tell stories. Novel to...
04/12/2022

“Instead of giving up on writing, on art forms altogether, I have been trying to find new ways to tell stories. Novel to me, at least. And when I simply cannot find the motivation or inspiration in my own stories, I look to the storytellers all around me. I always find them at 12th Street—in the forms of author, artist, and editor.”

Excerpt from Letter From The Editor 2021-2022, by Editor-in-chief, Sophia Benz (@sophiaromerobenz)

Link in stories

Putting aside the scurvy, wooden fingers, and telepathic seagulls, ‘Our Flag Means Death’ is a show about outcasts for o...
04/08/2022

Putting aside the scurvy, wooden fingers, and telepathic seagulls, ‘Our Flag Means Death’ is a show about outcasts for outcasts. It’s silly, sometimes irreverent, but brilliantly tender. It’s not just a rom-com or situational comedy; it’s a queer elegy—honoring those outcasts in history who chose to risk their lives for freedom and perhaps even love.
-
Link in stories

04/06/2022

New #NonFiction , #seeingisbelieving by #NoahMurray is now up!!! #linkinbio

04/04/2022

New Poetry by Lexi Lane is up!!! Link in bio!

04/04/2022

#CandyShop by @lilymonsour is now up! #LinkInBio

04/01/2022

Our Mess by @lilymonsour is now up!!! Such a beautiful read💕

Take a walk through New Orleans’ 9th Ward in Dezy Fitzgerald Powers’ expansive and unflinching new fiction piece, “The E...
03/28/2022

Take a walk through New Orleans’ 9th Ward in Dezy Fitzgerald Powers’ expansive and unflinching new fiction piece, “The Ewe’s Blood Trickles Down Mazant.”

Link in stories

03/24/2022
03/11/2022
03/11/2022
02/17/2022
02/17/2022

There’s still time to submit to 12th Street!!! Link in bio!!! We are waiting to review your awesome work!!!

02/17/2022
02/10/2022
02/10/2022

We’re still accepting submissions of all kinds! Art! Poetry! Non-Fiction & Fiction! Media!!! Link in bio!

02/10/2022
02/03/2022
02/03/2022
02/03/2022
02/03/2022
02/03/2022

We are still accepting submissions for all work! Don’t hide your talent, share it with the world! Link in bio:)

Address

66 West 12th Street, Room 504
New York, NY
10011

Telephone

(212) 229-5611

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when 12th Street Journal posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to 12th Street Journal:

Videos

Category

Nearby media companies


Other Magazines in New York

Show All

Comments

coLAB Arts resident artists Daniela Ochoa-Bravo and Susana Plotts-Pineda will be working in collaboration with Unity Square Neighborhood Revitalization Project and Dr. Mary Nucci of the School of Environmental and Biological Sciences at Rutgers University to produce a new comic book in response to the oral histories, experiences, and gardening practice of the Latino immigrant gardeners of New Brunswick’s Landers Garden and Feaster Park. Susana Plotts-Pineda is a Mexican-American theatre-maker, multi-media artist, performer, and writer. Her documentary play, La Caravana de los Misterios was staged at PSi#25 in Calgary and at Emerging Artists Theatre. Susana has worked with Noche Flamenca and Mapa Teatro. She is also the co-founder of Egg y Pan Magazine Daniela Ochoa-Bravo is a mixed-media artist, writer, and researcher based in Brooklyn, born in Bogotá. She is the Co-Founder and Editor of Egg y Pan Magazine, a project dedicated to fostering community between Latinx + POC artists and writers. She graduated from The New School with a B.A. in Global Studies and minored in Ethnicity and Race. Currently, she is working on an oral history-based comic-book piece with CoLAB Arts. Some of her previous publications include 12th Street Journal, Lumina Journal, and The New Context. This residency is made possible in part through a Research Council Grant from Rutgers University-New Brunswick. We are incredibly grateful for the generosity of time and spirit from Jennifer Hinton, Hector Perez, and the Unity Square Comunidad.
Next week, The New School hosts the Festival of New, celebrating the university's centennial and one hundred years of world-changing ideas. Creative Writing faculty members Mira Jacob, Luis Jaramillo, Robert Polito, and John Reed will be featured in events throughout the festival. There will also be a special event featuring the editors of 12th Street Journal. The festival is free and open to all. Register now: https://www.newschool.edu/festival-of-new/
Calling all The New School undergrads! Submit your best creative work to 12th Street Journal, our award-winning online journal. Deadline Nov. 9: http://www.12thstreetonline.com
So excited for the launch tomorrow!
"My audience can see a little bit of themselves in every character. They’re an empathetic group."
Check out our Riggio friend, Ari Spool. Then vote for her for mayor of NYC!
"The guitar rolled and stabbed, twisting itself into my chest. The crowd, once rowdy, stood in unanimous appreciation of the guitarist’s work." Find out what happened when Daniel Gee Husson went to Riot Fest:
The summer-reading book you have been waiting for is here: The Killing Rituals is an intense political thriller that sets the covert war against international terrorism – and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict - in a context of the super-powers’ cold-war struggle for dominance. The lives of Michelle Ramsey, an African American CIA agent, and Ben Shimron - her MOSSAD partner - get tangled as they track a deadly terrorist group in a race against time. Written by a former Secret Service agent the story spans between New York, Moscow, London, Rome and Lebanon to provide a highly realistic canvas of Special Forces operations, the intricate world of espionage, and the politics that drive both. For fans of Tom Clancy, John Le Carre, Josef Finder and Robert Ludlum this action- packed thriller is a fast page-turner. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CR0Z7ZO/ref=as_li_ss_til?tag=mendeheboo-20&camp=213381&creative=390973&linkCode=as4&creativeASIN=B00CR0Z7ZO&adid=0DZ9MDK8YNC0N1Q34BD7&&ref-refURL=http%3A%2F%2Fmendele.co.il%2F%3Fwpsc-product%3Dkillingrituals
The launch at Barnes and Noble this Friday is going to be amazing with this year's line up, go 12th Street!
2013 AWP Conference & Bookfair Hynes Convention Center & Sheraton Boston Hotel March 6 - 9, 2013 https://www.awpwriter.org/awp_conference/schedule_overview The New School Table at the Bookfair: #2802 The New School Presents: LIT and 12th Street Friday, March 8, 4:30-5:30pm Patricia Olson Bookfair Stage, Exhibit Hall A, Plaza Level The New School Writing Program features writers from LIT magazine and 12th Street journal. Representing LIT: Cara Benson and Claire Donato Representing 12th Street: John Eller, Sacha Idell, Charlotte Slivka, and Ricky Tucker
Internet scams are targeting students. Find out more!
In NYC for New Years? Here's what to do: