Soho Teen

Soho Teen Publisher of young adult novels. Visit our site for excerpts and more!

Launched in 2013, Soho Teen’s select list (7-10 titles a year) began with YA mysteries and thrillers. Over the years, we’ve broadened this niche to allow for novels of adolescent identity and self-discovery, particularly those with a unique format or narrative structure. Our diverse authors include acclaimed YA icons, filmmakers and screenwriters, rock stars, and a debut New York Times bestseller—among other exciting voices.

"In the car on the way to church this morning, I write Sarah’s name on the condensation on the passenger’s window, t...
05/09/2019
Exclusive Excerpt: ORPHEUS GIRL By Brynne Rebele-Henry

"In the car on the way to church this morning, I write Sarah’s name on the condensation on the passenger’s window, then wipe it off before Grammy can see."

Thanks to Book Riot for sharing this excerpt from Brynne Rebele-Henry's upcoming YA novel, ORPHEUS GIRL!

Check out Brynne Rebele-Henry's queer YA re-imagining of the Orpheus myth, ORPHEUS GIRL, and read an exclusive excerpt here!

"This tale of found family and recovery weaves an unforgettable punk rock–infused spell." -Kirkus Reviews Congratulati...
04/11/2019
ALL OF US WITH WINGS by Michelle Ruiz Keil | Kirkus Reviews

"This tale of found family and recovery weaves an unforgettable punk rock–infused spell." -Kirkus Reviews

Congratulations to Michelle Ruiz Keil for receiving a ⭐️starred⭐️ Kirkus review of ALL OF US WITH WINGS!

Xochi, a teen runaway, is contracted by 12-year-old Pallas and her polyamorous family to be their governess.

We are SO excited to reveal the cover of Brynne Rebele-Henry's gorgeous YA fiction debut, ORPHEUS GIRL. This lesbian ret...
04/11/2019
Cover Reveal: The Orpheus Myth gets an Update in Brynne Rebele-Henry's YA Fiction Debut, Orpheus Girl - Soho Press

We are SO excited to reveal the cover of Brynne Rebele-Henry's gorgeous YA fiction debut, ORPHEUS GIRL.

This lesbian retelling of the Orpheus myth is filled with amazing prose, teenage rebellion, Greek myths. We couldn't be happier to share Raya and Sarah's incredible love story with the world!

Today, Soho Teen is thrilled to reveal the cover of Brynne Rebele-Henry’s debut novel, Orpheus Girl. Driven by stunning prose and woven with allusions to Greek myth, Orpheus Girl re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a contemporary love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. This is Rebele-Henr...

Thursday reminder: Emily France's ZEN AND GONE was shortlisted for a Reading The West Book Award, which celebrates the b...
04/04/2019
Vote - Mountains and Plains Independent Booksellers Association

Thursday reminder: Emily France's ZEN AND GONE was shortlisted for a Reading The West Book Award, which celebrates the best books in the MPIBA region!

Cast your vote now!

The Reading the West Book Awards shortlist titles exemplify the best in fiction and non-fiction writing, culinary writing, and illustration, whose subject matter is set in the Mountains & Plains Independent Bookseller Association region (Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexi...

Barnes & Noble thinks ALL OF US WITH WINGS is a readalike for Jordan Peele's Twilight Zone and we couldn't agree more! E...
04/01/2019
8 YA Books to Get You in the Mood for Jordan Peele's The Twilight Zone Reboot

Barnes & Noble thinks ALL OF US WITH WINGS is a readalike for Jordan Peele's Twilight Zone and we couldn't agree more!

Enter the dimension of imagination with Michelle Ruiz Keil's debut novel and these other chill-tastic titles...

Listen closely. Can you hear it? Can you hear that sound? Doo-doo-dee-doo doo-doo-dee-doo. Those notes that make your hair stand on end can mean only one thing: Jordan Peele’s reboot of The Twilight Zone is finally here! To celebrate this revival of all things twisty, creepy, and downright uncanny...

“The Art of Losing handles the themes of guilt and the cycle of addiction with grace and deftness.” -Entertainment W...
03/29/2019
EW talks YA: These harrowing tales of trauma and grief find the light

“The Art of Losing handles the themes of guilt and the cycle of addiction with grace and deftness.”
-Entertainment Weekly

Our hearts are full...THE ART OF LOSING is in Entertainment Weekly!

EW is here to provide reviews and recommendations for the biggest new YA titles. This March, we’re discussing four novels…

Happy Book Birthday to the paperback edition of YOUR ROBOT DOG WILL DIE by Arin Greenwood! If you love speculative stori...
03/26/2019
New in Paperback – March | Soho Press

Happy Book Birthday to the paperback edition of YOUR ROBOT DOG WILL DIE by Arin Greenwood!

If you love speculative stories, dogs, robot dogs, or any combination thereof, you will love this heartwarming book!

Bold Literary Voices | Award-Winning International Crime Fiction | Groundbreaking Young Adult Fiction

"THE ART OF LOSING draws on Mason’s past, and it’s that openness and honesty that hit me hardest as a reader. It’s...
03/11/2019
Staff Reads: March 8 | Bookish

"THE ART OF LOSING draws on Mason’s past, and it’s that openness and honesty that hit me hardest as a reader. It’s a deeply personal novel, and one that makes me excited to see what Lizzy Mason does next!" -Bookish

Neither can we!

Take a peek at our bookshelves! Here's an exclusive look at what the Bookish team is picking up this weekend. Browse our staff reads and share your own.

Need a reason to read COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES? The Quiet Pond has sixteen!
03/07/2019
Sixteen Reasons Why You Should Read Color Outside The Lines in November

Need a reason to read COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES? The Quiet Pond has sixteen!

If you follow me on Twitter, then you should know how much I love Color Outside the Lines, an YA anthology about interracial relationships that I was beyond excited for. As much as I’d love to shar…

"Outside the expected trajectory for a person my age, I had to find my own rites of passage, create my own education. Di...
03/01/2019
Interview with Michelle Ruiz Keil, Author of All Of Us With Wings

"Outside the expected trajectory for a person my age, I had to find my own rites of passage, create my own education. Discover my own path to healing. I wanted to write a story about a life like that, a feminist fairy tale about loss, sexuality, identity, found family and complicated love."

Did you see Michelle Ruiz Keil's interview in YA SH3LF?

Hi there! I’m Michelle Ruiz Keil, an author and playwright with an eye for the enchanted and a way with animals. My first book is ALL OF US WITH WINGS, a magic-infused coming of age story set in po…

Looking to get a free copy of Michelle Ruiz Keil's YA contemporary fantasy debut, ALL OF US WITH WINGS? Enter our goodre...
02/27/2019
All of Us with Wings

Looking to get a free copy of Michelle Ruiz Keil's YA contemporary fantasy debut, ALL OF US WITH WINGS? Enter our goodreads giveaway now for a chance to win this gorgeous, thrilling, and unique gem of a book!

All of Us With Wings, Michelle Ruiz Keil’s mythology-inspired #OwnVoices debut is a post-punk San Francisco fairy tale about a seventeen-...

Looking for a weekend read that will make you cry? A near-future romp about robot dogs? It's Friday, and we're already c...
02/22/2019
Free Shipping Friday (and Saturday and Sunday) | Soho Press

Looking for a weekend read that will make you cry? A near-future romp about robot dogs? It's Friday, and we're already celebrating the weekend the best way we know how: a BOOK SALE!

From now until Sunday night, get free shipping on the Soho store with the code #FreeSohoShipping.

Happy reading!

Bold Literary Voices | Award-Winning International Crime Fiction | Groundbreaking Young Adult Fiction

We're thrilled to say...THE ART OF LOSING is an Indie Next Top 10 Book for Spring 2019! What an amazing way to celebrate...
02/20/2019
Kids Indie Next List | IndieBound.org

We're thrilled to say...THE ART OF LOSING is an Indie Next Top 10 Book for Spring 2019! What an amazing way to celebrate Lizzy Mason's pub week!

Happy #BookBirthday to Lizzy Mason and THE ART OF LOSING, her moving YA debut about sisterhood, loss, and redemption. NY...
02/19/2019

Happy #BookBirthday to Lizzy Mason and THE ART OF LOSING, her moving YA debut about sisterhood, loss, and redemption.

NYC: Help us celebrate tonight at McNally Jackson, where Lizzy will be in conversation with Bustle's Cristina Arreola. Hope to see you there!

https://sohopress.com/books/the-art-of-losing/

"I’ve always loved the poem and its message about experiencing loss. It may not get easier, even with practice, but mo...
02/15/2019
We Can Survive: Lizzy Mason on Sisterhood, Addiction, and The Art of Losing | Bookish

"I’ve always loved the poem and its message about experiencing loss. It may not get easier, even with practice, but more often than not, with time, it’s not a disaster. We can survive. Sometimes it’s even for the best."

We love these words of wisdom from debut YA author Lizzy Mason. Check out her interview with Bookish about her upcoming book, THE ART OF LOSING!

Debut author Lizzy Mason sits down for an interview with Bookish about her novel The Art of Losing, addiction, and sisterhood.

“The committee was emotionally struck by the raw vulnerability of Sequoyah’s journey out of the downward spiral he e...
02/06/2019
School Library Journal

“The committee was emotionally struck by the raw vulnerability of Sequoyah’s journey out of the downward spiral he experienced and his will to move forward...”

We bring you another cross-over episode with Soho Press!

WHERE THE DEAD SIT TALKING is a Top Fiction Novel for the 2019 In The Margins Book Award. Congratulations to Brandon Hobson and the other incredible selections!

The In the Margins Book Awards honor the best books published over the preceding 18 months that appeal to the reading needs and wants of teens from marginalized backgrounds. The committee selected three top titles in the categories of Fiction, Nonfiction, and Advocacy. They also released their full....

Soho Teen's cover photo
02/04/2019

Soho Teen's cover photo

"If I can be a resource for teens, that’s what’s important to me: if the book helps someone figure out how to talk a...
02/01/2019
Q & A with Lizzy Mason

"If I can be a resource for teens, that’s what’s important to me: if the book helps someone figure out how to talk about their issues or those of someone they love, that would be amazing."

If you haven't "met" Lizzy Mason yet, now is your chance! Her beautiful and inspiring debut YA novel, THE ART OF LOSING, comes out this month.

Longtime publicist Lizzy Mason spoke with PW about what it's like to be on the other side of the publishing process for her YA debut, 'The Art of Losing.'

We were already obsessed with Lizzy Mason's THE ART OF LOSING, a debut novel about the "complicated emotions tied to add...
01/17/2019
The 11 Best Young Adult Books You'll Be Obsessed With in 2019

We were already obsessed with Lizzy Mason's THE ART OF LOSING, a debut novel about the "complicated emotions tied to addiction, loss and love that arise as a result"....and now Cosmopolitan readers will be, too!

Sorry, Marie Kondo. We need ALL of these books.

8 Books About Teens With Creative Dreams | Book Riot
01/08/2019
8 Books About Teens With Creative Dreams | Book Riot

8 Books About Teens With Creative Dreams | Book Riot

This list of books about teens with creative dreams is sponsored by Soho Teen. Now in paperback: In Samira Ahmed's New York Times bestselling debut,

It's here: the Bustle cover reveal of Michelle Ruiz Keil's YA debut ALL OF US WITH WINGS! We're so excited to introduce ...
12/18/2018
This YA Magical Realism Tale About Ancient Rituals & Riot Grrrls Is A 2019 Must-Read

It's here: the Bustle cover reveal of Michelle Ruiz Keil's YA debut ALL OF US WITH WINGS!

We're so excited to introduce the world to Xochi and her story, filled with Latinx heroines, riot grrrl rituals, the San Francisco skyline, and a dose of magic.

If you love YA magical realism, Latinx heroines, riot grrrls, Victorian mansions, and explorations of grief, heritage, and forbidden desires, you probably never thought you would get all of the above in one book. But believe me when I say that…

Only 4 weeks until the LOVE, HATE & OTHER FILTERS paperback hits shelves--complete with an author Q&A, discussion questi...
12/11/2018

Only 4 weeks until the LOVE, HATE & OTHER FILTERS paperback hits shelves--complete with an author Q&A, discussion questions, and a sneak peak of Samira Ahmed's third book!

Head over to Bustle to see Samira Ahmed's favorite 2018 YA read!
12/05/2018
14 Young Adult Authors Reveal Their Favorite YA Books Of The Year

Head over to Bustle to see Samira Ahmed's favorite 2018 YA read!

I feel like I say this every year, but 2018 was a big year for young adult books. The Best YA Books of 2018 took the diversity conversation one step further — by continuing to tell the important real-world stories of marginalized people, yes — but…

YA readers: there are only TWO days left to enter to win Lizzy Mason's YA debut THE ART OF LOSING! Visit goodreads for a...
11/16/2018
The Art of Losing

YA readers: there are only TWO days left to enter to win Lizzy Mason's YA debut THE ART OF LOSING! Visit goodreads for a shot at a *signed* copy of this incredible novel about sisters, addiction, and letting go.

On one terrible night, 17-year-old Harley Langston’s life changes forever. At a party she discovers her younger sister, Audrey, hooking u...

"Fortmeyer’s humor, sweetness and focus on sexual and medical consent are winning."—The New York TimesCheck out this...
11/07/2018
Young Adult Fantasy Novels That Sweep Readers Away

"Fortmeyer’s humor, sweetness and focus on sexual and medical consent are winning."
—The New York Times

Check out this NYT review of HOLE IN THE MIDDLE! The book is winning! Kendra Fortmeyer is winning! And when you read her awesome YA debut, EVERYBODY WINS! ❤️

Congratulations, Kendra Fortmeyer!

Old-school haunted mansions, a climate apocalypse, a world where survival depends on falconry, and a girl born with a tunnel through her body.

GOODREADS. GIVEAWAY. TIME.Enter now to win one of 15 *signed* copies of the THE ART OF LOSING by Lizzy Mason. If you lov...
11/01/2018

GOODREADS. GIVEAWAY. TIME.

Enter now to win one of 15 *signed* copies of the THE ART OF LOSING by Lizzy Mason. If you love books that talk about addiction, complicated sister relationships, and stories that break your heart only to heal them again, you need this debut contemporary YA novel in your life.

Enter by 11/17 to be eligible: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35883613-the-art-of-losing

Kendra Fortmeyer writes stuff
10/22/2018
Kendra Fortmeyer writes stuff

Kendra Fortmeyer writes stuff

I spoke with Maggie Cooper at The Rumpus about magic and feminism and how Trump should be made to read Roxane Gay's NOT THAT BAD: DISPATCHES FROM RAPE CULTURE with his eyelids taped open. ✌️

Lizzy Mason's debut novel, THE ART OF LOSING, is part of this awesome list of upcoming buzz-y YA and MG books!
10/18/2018
New and forthcoming YA and MG to know about — @TLT16 Teen Librarian Toolbox

Lizzy Mason's debut novel, THE ART OF LOSING, is part of this awesome list of upcoming buzz-y YA and MG books!

Books, books, and more books! My neighbors probably wonder what exactly goes on over here at the house where UPS of FedEx stops nearly every day. All of the books I get end up going back out the door in some fashion—to teen readers I know, to classroom libraries of friends, to my own school, or in...

We love this review of Amy Brashear's THE INCREDIBLE TRUE STORY OF THE MAKING OF THE EVE OF DESTRUCTION. Thanks for read...
09/24/2018
YA SH3LF

We love this review of Amy Brashear's THE INCREDIBLE TRUE STORY OF THE MAKING OF THE EVE OF DESTRUCTION. Thanks for reading, YA SH3LF!

If you like books inspired by true events, stories set in the 80's (hello, Stranger Things), or *both*, this one is for you!

Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for almost nothing other than its nuclear missile silos. MAD—Mutually Assured Destruction—is a fear every local lives with and tries to ignore. Unfortunately that’s impossible now that film moguls have picked Griffin Flat as the location for a new nuclear holocaust movie, aptly titled The Eve of Destruction. Soho Teen Soho Press

Hey YA readers! Right now, there's a massive Goodreads giveaway of Lizzy Mason's THE ART OF LOSING, a debut YA novel abo...
09/11/2018
The Art of Losing

Hey YA readers!

Right now, there's a massive Goodreads giveaway of Lizzy Mason's THE ART OF LOSING, a debut YA novel about sisterly bonds, the reality of addiction, and one accident that changes everything--forever.

Enter by 9/14 to win one of twenty five copies. We can't wait to hear what you think!

Soho Teen's cover photo
09/06/2018

Soho Teen's cover photo

HOLE IN THE MIDDLE is finally here!Happy book birthday to Kendra Fortmeyer's dazzling, weird, and wonderful YA debut abo...
09/04/2018
Hole in the Middle | Soho Press

HOLE IN THE MIDDLE is finally here!

Happy book birthday to Kendra Fortmeyer's dazzling, weird, and wonderful YA debut about being brave, finding your destiny, and loving what makes you different.

Get a copy at your local bookstore or via the link below!

"A book that belongs on every shelf."—Kathleen GlasgowEnter to win one of the 2019's most buzzed about YA debuts on Go...
08/31/2018
The Art of Losing

"A book that belongs on every shelf."—Kathleen Glasgow

Enter to win one of the 2019's most buzzed about YA debuts on Goodreads!

When 17-year-old Harley’s boyfriend drives drunk, an accident leaves her sister Audrey with amnesia. Audrey has no memory of what she did...

Listen up! No, literally listen to Kendra Fortmeyer reading the first chapter of her YA debut, HOLE IN THE MIDDLE, out 9...
08/30/2018
Listen to Kendra Fortmeyer Read from Hole in the Middle | Soho Press

Listen up! No, literally listen to Kendra Fortmeyer reading the first chapter of her YA debut, HOLE IN THE MIDDLE, out 9/4. 🔈 Link below! 👩‍🎤

"Here are the options for a girl like me:

Option A: Not mention it on the first date, or the second or third. We get to know each other, laugh, accidentally-on- purpose brush each other’s shoulders. We go to a movie and say stupid things during the dramatic scenes, and I look over and notice that you’re crying, and you look over and notice me noticing you crying, and we both pretend not to notice that the other person is noticing these things, but you take my hand, quietly and gratefully."

Bold Literary Voices | Award-Winning International Crime Fiction | Groundbreaking Young Adult Fiction

Address

New York, NY

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Soho Teen posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Soho Teen:

Videos

Category

Nearby media companies


Other Publishers in New York

Show All