Soho Teen

Soho Teen Publisher of young adult novels. Visit our site for excerpts and more!

Launched in 2013, Soho Teen’s select list (7-10 titles a year) began with YA mysteries and thrillers. Over the years, we’ve broadened this niche to allow for novels of adolescent identity and self-discovery, particularly those with a unique format or narrative structure. Our diverse authors include acclaimed YA icons, filmmakers and screenwriters, rock stars, and a debut New York Times bestseller—among other exciting voices.

"Rebele-Henry has a true gift for mythological prose and imagery...All readers will benefit from this short, poetic stor...
11/05/2019
Lone Star Review: ORPHEUS GIRL

"Rebele-Henry has a true gift for mythological prose and imagery...All readers will benefit from this short, poetic story because while it is an engaging work of fiction, it is also a harsh reminder that no one should be thrown away or forced to change because they are different."

—Lone Star Literary Life

What an incredible and moving review of Brynne Rebele-Henry's ORPHEUS GIRL.

Review of poet Brynne Rebele-Henry's first novel

BEST YA BOOKS OF THE DECADE! Featuring Samira Ahmed's LOVE, HATE & OTHER FILTERS and Adam Silvera's MORE HAPPY THAN NOT!...
10/30/2019
The 30 Best Young Adult Novels of the 2010s

BEST YA BOOKS OF THE DECADE!

Featuring Samira Ahmed's LOVE, HATE & OTHER FILTERS and Adam Silvera's MORE HAPPY THAN NOT!

We're not crying, YOU'RE crying.

JK. We're crying. 😢💕📚

The decade's best YA books include novels by Angie Thomas, Beck Albertalli, Adam Silvera and other contemporary icons.

"Even without having had similar experiences, this book brought me right back to my teenage years, where every emotion w...
10/29/2019
The Best Books We Read This Month | Bookish

"Even without having had similar experiences, this book brought me right back to my teenage years, where every emotion was like electricity, and every decision a mountain."
—Kristina, Bookish

THE ART OF LOSING by Lizzy Mason is a Bookish best book of the month!

Take a peek at our bookshelves! Here's an exclusive look at the best books we read this month. Browse our staff reads and share your own.

"OPIOID reminds me of a book I would have devoured in high school, read half a dozen times."—Star TribuneAn amazing revi...
10/25/2019
Review: 'Opioid, Indiana,' by Brian Allen Carr

"OPIOID reminds me of a book I would have devoured in high school, read half a dozen times."
—Star Tribune

An amazing review of Brian Allen Carr's coming-of-age novel, OPIOID, INDIANA by the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

If you're wondering what's new at Soho Teen this month: ✅something for HADESTOWN fans✅maybe-kinda the apocalypse...now i...
10/24/2019
Cozy Up with New Releases from Soho Press

If you're wondering what's new at Soho Teen this month:

✅something for HADESTOWN fans
✅maybe-kinda the apocalypse...now in paperback!
✅80's looks
✅spooky reads from the crypt

Check out our newsletter if you're looking to start winter hibernation already!

"Raya and Sarah's story is a credit to Rebele-Henry's own teen voice, mature beyond her years...rings incredibly true." ...
10/15/2019
NPR

"Raya and Sarah's story is a credit to Rebele-Henry's own teen voice, mature beyond her years...rings incredibly true."

We love this incandescent NPR review of Brynne Rebele-Henry's ORPHEUS GIRL, a lesbian re-imagining of the Orpheus myth!

"Orpheus Girl" transplants the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice to modern-day Texas, for a wrenching tale of love between two young women whose families send them to a religious "re-education" camp, says our reviewer.

Happy #BookBirthday to Brynne Rebele-Henry's ORPHEUS GIRL: the Orpheus myth retold as a love story between two teen girl...
10/08/2019
Orpheus Girl - Soho Press

Happy #BookBirthday to Brynne Rebele-Henry's ORPHEUS GIRL: the Orpheus myth retold as a love story between two teen girls sent to conversion therapy in rural TX.

...& this amazing book shares a birthday with #InternationalLesbianDay. Sending love and appreciation to those celebrating ❤️

In her debut novel, award–winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry reimagines the epic of Orpheus as a love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas to...

We are so excited to say that Brynne Rebele-Henry's YA novel ORPHEUS GIRL, a queer retelling of the Orpheus myth, has be...
10/03/2019
2019 Fall Okra Picks

We are so excited to say that Brynne Rebele-Henry's YA novel ORPHEUS GIRL, a queer retelling of the Orpheus myth, has been selected as a Fall 2019 Okra Pick!

Thank you, SIBA!

"Tavengerwei has a real gift for painting little moments of universal truth." —NPR Books We love this review of Rutendo ...
09/23/2019
'Hope Is Our Only Wing' Tackles Tough Issues With Straightforward Style

"Tavengerwei has a real gift for painting little moments of universal truth." —NPR Books

We love this review of Rutendo Tavengerwei's HOPE IS OUR ONLY WING, a Zimbabwe-set YA about the "bravery of two young women" finding hope amidst grief.

Rutendo Tavengerwei's YA debut is a glimpse into the lives of two struggling teens: Shamiso, who moves to Zimbabwe after her father dies in a suspicious car accident, and cancer survivor Tanyaradzwa.

"Michelle Ruiz Keil’s strange but original premise gives fresh perspective to the ways pain and rage can manifest themse...
09/20/2019
15 great new books by Latinos for Hispanic Heritage Month

"Michelle Ruiz Keil’s strange but original premise gives fresh perspective to the ways pain and rage can manifest themselves as toxic elements that threaten a person’s well-being." —NBC News

So happy to see ALL OF US WITH WINGS on this incredible #HispanicHeritageMonth list!

The list includes searing memoirs about bicultural identity, gripping novels and beautiful poetry collections.

"I have my own voice.I have my own story.I have my own name. It’s Khayyam."YOU can be the first to get your hands on Sam...
09/16/2019
Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know

"I have my own voice.
I have my own story.
I have my own name. It’s Khayyam."

YOU can be the first to get your hands on Samira Ahmed's upcoming MAD, BAD & DANGEROUS TO KNOW.

Enter now to win one of 15 ARCs on Goodreads​! #writeherstory #giveaways

Told in alternating narratives that bridge centuries, the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed traces the liv...

Penguin Random House Library Marketing
09/10/2019
Penguin Random House Library Marketing

Penguin Random House Library Marketing

Check out the cover reveal and excerpt of bestselling author Samira Ahmed's new novel MAD, BAD & DANGEROUS TO KNOW from Soho Press!

The cover for Samira Ahmed's upcoming MAD, BAD & DANGEROUS TO KNOW is now live on Teen Vogue! This is a story about two ...
09/10/2019
"Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know" Is a YA Paris Adventure Story for Art Lovers

The cover for Samira Ahmed's upcoming MAD, BAD & DANGEROUS TO KNOW is now live on Teen Vogue!

This is a story about two young women across centuries, fighting to step out of the shadow of patriarchy and tell their own stories.

We are so excited to introduce Khayyam and Leila!

Meet 17-year-old Khayyam, whose Paris summer doesn't exactly go as planned.

"Showcases a cast of characters whose formidable spirits in the face of life-threatening crises take readers on a roller...
09/10/2019
HOPE IS OUR ONLY WING by Rutendo Tavengerwei | Kirkus Reviews

"Showcases a cast of characters whose formidable spirits in the face of life-threatening crises take readers on a roller-coaster ride of emotions."

Happy #BookBirthday to Rutendo Tavengerwei's incredible, "gripping page-turner," HOPE IS OUR ONLY WING!

Following the tragic and mysterious death of her journalist father while on an investigative trip to the family's homeland of Zimbabwe, 15-year-old Shamiso and her mother leave England.

So cool! Adam Silvera's MORE HAPPY THAN NOT is a Nerds and Beyond Book Club pick for September 🙂📚✅
09/03/2019
Nerds and Beyond Book Club: ‘More Happy Than Not’ by Adam Silvera

So cool! Adam Silvera's MORE HAPPY THAN NOT is a
Nerds and Beyond Book Club pick for September 🙂📚✅

Welcome to our interactive Nerds and Beyond Book Club series! Our book for September is More Happy Than Not (MHTN) by Adam Silvera. The book is Silvera’s debut novel. It is a New York Times (…

Soho Teen's cover photo
08/30/2019

Soho Teen's cover photo

Now live: Michelle Ruiz Keil's interview on OPB's State of Wonder!
08/28/2019
Emilly Prado | Michelle Ruiz Keil | Tehlor Kay Mejia

Now live: Michelle Ruiz Keil's interview on OPB's State of Wonder!

As much as we may try, we can never leave our younger selves in the dust. This week, three writers mine from their own childhoods to create some powerful storytelling.

Enter this Goodreads #giveaway NOW to win a free ARC of COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES, a groundbreaking YA anthology about the...
08/19/2019
Book giveaway for Color Outside the Lines by Sangu Mandanna Aug 12-Aug 25, 2019

Enter this Goodreads #giveaway NOW to win a free ARC of COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES, a groundbreaking YA anthology about the complexity and beauty of interracial and LGBTQ+ relationships where differences are front and center. Link below!

Featuring stories from your favorite YA writers, including Danielle Paige, Samira Ahmed, Adam Silvera, and L.L. McKinney.

Enter to win one of 15 free copies available. Giveaway dates from Aug 12-Aug 25, 2019. ENTER TO WIN AN ADVANCED READER COPY & PAMPHLET: of this groundbre...

We are over the moon to announce that Brynne Rebele-Henry's debut YA novel, ORPHEUS GIRL, is a Kids' Fall Indie Next pic...
08/14/2019
Kids Indie Next List | IndieBound.org

We are over the moon to announce that Brynne Rebele-Henry's debut YA novel, ORPHEUS GIRL, is a Kids' Fall Indie Next pick!

Thank you to all the hardworking indie booksellers who put this list together season after season! ♥️📝📚⭐️

"A narrative of courage and optimism in the face of loss.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review #Giveaway alert! We're giving...
08/08/2019
Hope Is Our Only Wing

"A narrative of courage and optimism in the face of loss.”
—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

#Giveaway alert!

We're giving away 15 copies of Rutendo Tavengerwei's HOPE IS OUR ONLY WING, a moving YA story of hope, resilience, and strength set in Zimbabwe. Enter below!

Gaze upon the beautiful new paperback cover of Kendra Fortmeyer's HOLE IN THE MIDDLE! Happy #paperbackbirthday, Kendra!
08/06/2019
Your Shopping Cart | Soho Press

Gaze upon the beautiful new paperback cover of Kendra Fortmeyer's HOLE IN THE MIDDLE!

Happy #paperbackbirthday, Kendra!

“COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES has my whole heart . . . It’s a kaleidoscope of voices that illuminate how much we need more di...
08/06/2019
Review: 'Color Outside The Lines' Anthology | The Nerd Daily

“COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES has my whole heart . . . It’s a kaleidoscope of voices that illuminate how much we need more diverse literature and just how important these voices are.”

The Nerd Daily's review of COTL (edited by the amazing Sangu Mandanna) has our whole heart 😍😍😍

A group of talented authors come together to create 'Color Outside The Lines', an anthology that approaches interracial and LGBTQIA+ relationships.

Friendship isn't always simple or easy. But it's always worth it. It's #InternationalDayofFriendship and we're currently...
07/30/2019

Friendship isn't always simple or easy. But it's always worth it.

It's #InternationalDayofFriendship and we're currently obsessing over Shamiso and Tanyaradzwa's incredible bond in Rutendo Tavengerwei's HOPE IS OUR ONLY WING.

Have you seen the gorgeous new paperback cover of Kendra Fortmeyer's debut YA novel, HOLE IN THE MIDDLE? This soft-cover...
07/26/2019

Have you seen the gorgeous new paperback cover of Kendra Fortmeyer's debut YA novel, HOLE IN THE MIDDLE?

This soft-covered and big-hearted beauty hits shelves on 8/6!

"A bold, graphic tale about the costs of exclusion." Dip into Kirkus's review of Brynne Rebele-Henry's debut novel, ORPH...
07/22/2019
ORPHEUS GIRL by Brynne Rebele-Henry | Kirkus Reviews

"A bold, graphic tale about the costs of exclusion."

Dip into Kirkus's review of Brynne Rebele-Henry's debut novel, ORPHEUS GIRL, a modern retelling of the Orpheus myth set in a conversion therapy center. On shelves October 8th!

Teen lesbians fight for acceptance in a small town.

"You know that feeling of maybe seeing yourself represented every now and again, but never quite seeing it done right? I...
07/15/2019
The Must-Read YA Anthologies of 2019

"You know that feeling of maybe seeing yourself represented every now and again, but never quite seeing it done right? Imagine feeling that all the time . . . and then bam, you get a whole book of joyful and romantic stories by people who actually know what they’re talking about." —Barnes & Noble

COLOR OUTSIDE THE LINES is a B&N Must Read Anthology of 2019!

The rising trend of YA anthologies continues, and I for one could not be more thrilled. This year's lineup contains collections organized by source material, theme, and identity, and it's such amazing collection of so many of our favorite authors and lots more who are well on their way to that statu

Soho Teen's cover photo
07/02/2019

Soho Teen's cover photo

Soho Teen's cover photo
07/02/2019

Soho Teen's cover photo

Soho Teen's cover photo
07/01/2019

Soho Teen's cover photo

Happy #BookBirthday to Michelle Ruiz Keil's dazzling spell of a book, ALL OF US WITH WINGS! Finally, the world gets to m...
06/18/2019
How to Become a Witch in California in the '80s | Bookish

Happy #BookBirthday to Michelle Ruiz Keil's dazzling spell of a book, ALL OF US WITH WINGS! Finally, the world gets to meet Xochi, Pallas, Peasblossom, and the entire (found) family at Eris Gardens.

We can't wait for Michelle's story to find its readers! 💙

Author Michelle Ruiz Keil shares the experiences that inspired her to write her debut novel All of Us with Wings.

Michelle Ruiz Keil's ALL OF US WITH WINGS makes an appearance on this awesome Entertainment Weekly list! Only 6 days unt...
06/12/2019
The 15 biggest (and best) YA books of the summer

Michelle Ruiz Keil's ALL OF US WITH WINGS makes an appearance on this awesome Entertainment Weekly list!

Only 6 days until this witchy postpunk ode to San Francisco is out in the world!

Trust us when we say there are plenty of great summer YA novels beyond this list. But we picked out the 15 we're most excited for.

Soho Teen's cover photo
05/31/2019

Soho Teen's cover photo

"Keil's ambitious debut is jam-packed with twists and depth and froth and function...[It is] a book about embracing ever...
05/31/2019
First Love and Other Investigations

"Keil's ambitious debut is jam-packed with twists and depth and froth and function...[It is] a book about embracing everything — people, lifestyles, beliefs, experiences — and, in so doing, finding your own distinct power." —The New York Times Books

A lovely New York Times review for Michelle Ruiz Keil's ALL OF US WITH WINGS—out June 18th!

In these Y.A. novels, teenagers search for answers to the mysteries of love and the puzzle of themselves.

IT'S HERE! THE COVER OF GIBBY HAYNES'S DEBUT YA NOVEL, ME & MR. CIGAR! From the legendary frontman of the Butthole Surfe...
05/31/2019
Butthole Surfers’ Gibby Haynes Announces Debut Novel

IT'S HERE! THE COVER OF GIBBY HAYNES'S DEBUT YA NOVEL, ME & MR. CIGAR!

From the legendary frontman of the Butthole Surfers comes a one-of-kind, psychedelia-infused book featuring a supernatural dog, an irascible hero, and a whole lotta chicken-fried steak...

Me & Mr. Cigar is the story about a 17-year-old and his “supernatural dog”

"In the car on the way to church this morning, I write Sarah’s name on the condensation on the passenger’s window, then ...
05/09/2019
Exclusive Excerpt: ORPHEUS GIRL By Brynne Rebele-Henry

"In the car on the way to church this morning, I write Sarah’s name on the condensation on the passenger’s window, then wipe it off before Grammy can see."

Thanks to Book Riot for sharing this excerpt from Brynne Rebele-Henry's upcoming YA novel, ORPHEUS GIRL!

Check out Brynne Rebele-Henry's queer YA re-imagining of the Orpheus myth, ORPHEUS GIRL, and read an exclusive excerpt here!

"This tale of found family and recovery weaves an unforgettable punk rock–infused spell." -Kirkus Reviews Congratulation...
04/11/2019
ALL OF US WITH WINGS by Michelle Ruiz Keil | Kirkus Reviews

"This tale of found family and recovery weaves an unforgettable punk rock–infused spell." -Kirkus Reviews

Congratulations to Michelle Ruiz Keil for receiving a ⭐️starred⭐️ Kirkus review of ALL OF US WITH WINGS!

Xochi, a teen runaway, is contracted by 12-year-old Pallas and her polyamorous family to be their governess.

We are SO excited to reveal the cover of Brynne Rebele-Henry's gorgeous YA fiction debut, ORPHEUS GIRL. This lesbian ret...
04/11/2019
Cover Reveal: The Orpheus Myth gets an Update in Brynne Rebele-Henry's YA Fiction Debut, Orpheus Girl - Soho Press

We are SO excited to reveal the cover of Brynne Rebele-Henry's gorgeous YA fiction debut, ORPHEUS GIRL.

This lesbian retelling of the Orpheus myth is filled with amazing prose, teenage rebellion, Greek myths. We couldn't be happier to share Raya and Sarah's incredible love story with the world!

Today, Soho Teen is thrilled to reveal the cover of Brynne Rebele-Henry’s debut novel, Orpheus Girl. Driven by stunning prose and woven with allusions to Greek myth, Orpheus Girl re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a contemporary love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. This is Rebele-Henr...

Thursday reminder: Emily France's ZEN AND GONE was shortlisted for a Reading The West Book Award, which celebrates the b...
04/04/2019
Vote - Mountains and Plains Independent Booksellers Association

Thursday reminder: Emily France's ZEN AND GONE was shortlisted for a Reading The West Book Award, which celebrates the best books in the MPIBA region!

Cast your vote now!

The Reading the West Book Awards shortlist titles exemplify the best in fiction and non-fiction writing, culinary writing, and illustration, whose subject matter is set in the Mountains & Plains Independent Bookseller Association region (Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexi...

Barnes & Noble thinks ALL OF US WITH WINGS is a readalike for Jordan Peele's Twilight Zone and we couldn't agree more! E...
04/01/2019
8 YA Books to Get You in the Mood for Jordan Peele's The Twilight Zone Reboot

Barnes & Noble thinks ALL OF US WITH WINGS is a readalike for Jordan Peele's Twilight Zone and we couldn't agree more!

Enter the dimension of imagination with Michelle Ruiz Keil's debut novel and these other chill-tastic titles...

Listen closely. Can you hear it? Can you hear that sound? Doo-doo-dee-doo doo-doo-dee-doo. Those notes that make your hair stand on end can mean only one thing: Jordan Peele’s reboot of The Twilight Zone is finally here! To celebrate this revival of all things twisty, creepy, and downright uncanny...

“The Art of Losing handles the themes of guilt and the cycle of addiction with grace and deftness.” -Entertainment Weekl...
03/29/2019
EW talks YA: These harrowing tales of trauma and grief find the light

“The Art of Losing handles the themes of guilt and the cycle of addiction with grace and deftness.”
-Entertainment Weekly

Our hearts are full...THE ART OF LOSING is in Entertainment Weekly!

EW is here to provide reviews and recommendations for the biggest new YA titles. This March, we’re discussing four novels…

Happy Book Birthday to the paperback edition of YOUR ROBOT DOG WILL DIE by Arin Greenwood! If you love speculative stori...
03/26/2019
New in Paperback – March | Soho Press

Happy Book Birthday to the paperback edition of YOUR ROBOT DOG WILL DIE by Arin Greenwood!

If you love speculative stories, dogs, robot dogs, or any combination thereof, you will love this heartwarming book!

Bold Literary Voices | Award-Winning International Crime Fiction | Groundbreaking Young Adult Fiction

Address

New York, NY

Alerts

Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Soho Teen posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Business

Send a message to Soho Teen:

Videos

Category

Nearby media companies